Grateful Dead Ladies & Gentlemen (4-CD)

Ladies & Gentlemen (4-CD)
119 ratings
19 copies available
Price: $28.78
List Price: $31.98
You Save: $3.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  359R6
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Grateful Dead / WEA

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Truckin'
  • 2.Bertha
  • 3.Next Time You See Me
  • 4.Beat It On Down The Line
  • 5.Bird Song
  • 6.Dark Hollow
  • 7.Second That Emotion
  • 8.Me And My Uncle
  • 9.Cumberland Blues
  • 10.Good Lovin'
  • 11.Drums
  • 12.Good Lovin'

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sugar Magnolia
  • 2.Loser
  • 3.Ain't It Crazy (The Rub)
  • 4.El Paso
  • 5.I'm A King Bee
  • 6.Ripple
  • 7.Me And Bobby McGee
  • 8.Uncle John's Band
  • 9.Turn On Your Lovelight

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.China Cat Sunflower
  • 2.I Know You Rider
  • 3.It Hurts Me Too
  • 4.Sing Me Back Home
  • 5.Hard To Handle
  • 6.Dark Star
  • 7.St. Stephen
  • 8.Not Fade Away
  • 9.Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad
  • 10.Not Fade Away

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Morning Dew
  • 2.New Minglewood Blues
  • 3.Wharf Rat
  • 4.Alligator
  • 5.Drums
  • 6.Jam
  • 7.Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad
  • 8.Cold Rain And Snow
  • 9.Casey Jones
  • 10.In The Midnight Hour
  • 11.We Bid You Goodnight

Product Description:

Grateful Dead: Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir (vocals, guitar); Ron "Pigpen" McKerman (vocals, harmonica, organ, percussion); Phil Lesh (vocals, bass); Tom Constanten (organ); Bill Kreutzmann (drums).
Engineers: Bob Matthews, Betty Cantor-Jackson.
Recorded live at the Fillmore East, New York, New York in April 25-29, 1971. Includes liner notes by Blair Jackson.
All tracks have been digitally remastered using HDCD technology.
Distilled from a weeklong series of concerts celebrating the shuttering of Bill Graham's counter-cultural mecca, LADIES AND GENTLEMEN showcases the original five-piece Grateful Dead operating at pretty much peak form. Former keyboardist and John Cage fan Tom Constanten, who lent the group considerable avant-cachet on ANTHEM OF THE SUN and AOXOMOXOA, guests here on a few songs, including wonderfully lysergic versions of "Dark Star" and "St. Stephen."
LADIES AND GENTLEMEN is also a document of the band in transition to a more country and roots rock orientation; it's doubtful, for example, that they would have played songs like Marty Robbins' "El Paso" or (especially) Merle Haggard's "Sing Me Back Home" in the days of the Acid Tests. In any case, as always with the Dead, there are moments of complete musical transcendence (as well as, to be honest, moments where they're just sort of noodling around), but this set is worth having for both musical and historical reasons.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 119 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Grateful Dead

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 91,151
  • UPC: 081227894221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)