Grateful Dead Grateful Dead Movie Soundtrack (5-CD)

Grateful Dead Movie Soundtrack (5-CD)
38 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Sale: $33.28
SUPER SAVINGS: $30.77 Limited Time Only
List Price: $36.98
You Save: $6.21 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  359QV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Grateful Dead / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.116
4 stars out of 5 - " By definition, this is more than a soundtrack. This is where Garcia's band staked out their territory and pulled gold out of the dirt."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.U.S. Blues
  • 2.One More Saturday Night
  • 3.China Cat Sunflower
  • 4.I Know You Rider
  • 5.Eyes Of The World
  • 6.China Doll
  • 7.Playing In The Band

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Scarlet Begonias
  • 2.He's Gone
  • 3.Jam
  • 4.Weirdness
  • 5.The Other One
  • 6.Spanish Jam
  • 7.Mind Left Body Jam
  • 8.The Other One
  • 9.Stella Blue
  • 10.Casey Jones

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Prelude: Part I / Part II (Let It Grow) / Weather Report Suite
  • 2.Jam
  • 3.Dark Star
  • 4.Morning Dew
  • 5.Not Fade Away
  • 6.Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Uncle John's Band
  • 2.Big Railroad Blues
  • 3.Tomorrow Is Forever
  • 4.Sugar Magnolia
  • 5.He's Gone
  • 6.Caution Jam
  • 7.Drums
  • 8.Space
  • 9.Truckin'
  • 10.Black Peter
  • 11.Sunshine Daydream

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Playing In The Band
  • 2.Drums
  • 3.Not Fade Away
  • 4.Drums
  • 5.The Other One
  • 6.Wharf Rat
  • 7.Playing In The Band
  • 8.Johnny B. Goode
  • 9.Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo
  • 10.We Bid You Goodnight

Product Description:

Grateful Dead: Bob Weir (guitar); Keith Godchaux (keyboards); Phil Lesh (bass guitar); Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann (percussion); Donna Jean Godchaux (background vocals); Jerry Garcia.
Personnel: Jerry Garcia (vocals, guitar); Phil Lesh (vocals, electric bass); Donna Jean Godchaux, Bob Weir (vocals); Keith Godchaux (piano); Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann (drums).
Audio Mixer: Jeffrey Norman.
Recording information: Winterland, San Francisco, CA (10/16/1974-10/20/1974).
Photographers: Dave Patrick; Bruce Polonsky.
Arranger: Grateful Dead.
In 1974, the Grateful Dead were growing temporarily weary of the road, and decided to go into semi-retirement from live performance for a couple of years. In preparation for that lengthy break, the Dead had a big blowout of a farewell stint at San Francisco's Winterland, the venue they'd come to think of as "home." A film crew captured the whole thing for posterity, and the resultant concert document, THE GRATEFUL DEAD MOVIE, finally appeared in theatres in 1977, after the Dead had returned to full-time touring once again. Released in conjunction with the film's DVD reissue, the GRATEFUL DEAD MOVIE SOUNDTRACK box set goes beyond Deadheads' wildest expectations by offering a full five-disc representation of the Winterland shows.
Those whose familiarity with these shows extends only to the original film will be delighted to discover everything from a Jerry Garcia/Donna Godchaux duet on the Porter Wagoner/Dolly Parton country ballad "Tomorrow Is Forever" to Bob Weir's extended jazz-rock excursion "Weather Report Suite." THE GRATEFUL DEAD MOVIE captured the band at a key transitional point, when they were moving past the country/folk-based Americana template of AMERICAN BEAUTY and WORKINGMAN'S DEAD, but had not yet leapt into the prog-rock-like ambitions of BLUES FOR ALLAH and TERRAPIN STATION. Over the length of this set, the full breadth of the group's mid-'70s sound can be fully experienced.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 38 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Grateful Dead

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 122,406
  • UPC: 081227958329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.69/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)