Tom Lehrer Remains of Tom Lehrer (3-CD)

Remains of Tom Lehrer (3-CD)
38 ratings
Price: $44.98
List Price: $49.98
You Save: $5 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  37J3E
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

Monty Python
  • CD Details

    • Number of Discs: 3
    • Released:
    • Originally Released: 2000
    • Label: Rhino

    Entertainment Reviews:

    Mojo (Publisher) - 8/00, p.115
    "...Lehrer's sound like beautifully-barbed satirical ice-picks, jabs to the heart of Eisenhower's Nuke-age apple-pie America."

    Tracks on Disc 1:

    • 1.Fight Fiercely, Harvard
    • 2.The Old Dope Peddler
    • 3.Be Prepared
    • 4.The Wild West Is Where I Want To Be
    • 5.I Wanna Go Back To Dixie
    • 6.Lobachevsky
    • 7.The Irish Ballad
    • 8.The Hunting Song
    • 9.My Home Town
    • 10.When You Are Old And Gray
    • 11.I Hold Your Hand In Mine
    • 12.The Wiener Schnitzel Waltz
    • 13.Poisoning Pigeons In The Park
    • 14.Bright College Days
    • 15.A Christmas Carol
    • 16.The Elements
    • 17.Oedipus Rex
    • 18.In Old Mexico
    • 19.Clementine
    • 20.It Makes A Fellow Proud To Be A Soldier
    • 21.She's My Girl
    • 22.The Masochism Tango
    • 23.We Will All Go Together When We Go
    • 24.I Got It From Agnes
    • 25.That's Mathematics

    Tracks on Disc 2:

    • 1.Introduction
    • 2.I Wanna Go Back To Dixie
    • 3.The Wild West Is Where I Want To Be
    • 4.The Old Dope Peddler
    • 5.Fight Fiercely, Harvard
    • 6.Lobachevsky
    • 7.The Irish Ballad
    • 8.The Hunting Song
    • 9.My Home Town
    • 10.When You Are Old And Gray
    • 11.The Wiener Schnitzel Waltz
    • 12.I Hold Your Hand In Mine
    • 13.Be Prepared
    • 14.Poisoning Pigeons In The Park
    • 15.Bright College Days
    • 16.A Christmas Carol
    • 17.The Elements
    • 18.Oedipus Rex
    • 19.In Old Mexico
    • 20.Clementine
    • 21.It Makes A Fellow Proud To Be A Soldier
    • 22.She's My Girl
    • 23.The Masochism Tango
    • 24.We Will All Go Together When We Go

    Tracks on Disc 3:

    • 1.National Brotherhood Week
    • 2.MLF Lullaby
    • 3.George Murphy
    • 4.The Folk Song Army
    • 5.Smut
    • 6.Send The Marines
    • 7.Pollution
    • 8.Song Long, Mom (A Song For World War III)
    • 9.Whatever Became Of Hubert?
    • 10.New Math
    • 11.Alma
    • 12.Who's Next
    • 13.Wernher Von Braun
    • 14.The Vatican Rag
    • 15.Poisoning Pigeons In The Park
    • 16.The Masochism Tango
    • 17.The Hunting Song
    • 18.We Will All Go Together When We Go
    • 19.L-Y
    • 20.Silent E
    • 21.O-U (The Hound Song)
    • 22.S-N (Snore, Sniff, And Sneeze)
    • 23.N Apostrophe T
    • 24.Selling Out
    • 25.Hanukkah In Santa Monica, (I'm Spending)

    Product Description:

    Personnel includes: Tom Lehrer (vocals, piano); Jay Berliner (guitar, banjo).
    Producers include: Joe Raposo, Rob Fisher, James Stagliano, Tom Lehrer, Jimmy Hilliard.
    Compilation producers: Tom Lehrer, David McLees, Barry "Dr. Demento" Hansen, Bill Inglot.
    Engineers include: Don Geis, Ray Hall, Cynthia Daniels.
    Recorded between 1953 & 1999. Includes liner notes by Tom Lehrer & Dr. Demento.
    Digitally remastered by Bill Inglot & Dan Hersch (DigiPrep).
    THE REMAINS OF TOM LEHRER was nominated for the 2001 Grammy Award for Best Album Notes.
    Rhino's three-disc box set The Remains of Tom Lehrer presents 75 tracks from the satirist's four decade career. The first disc concentrates on Lehrer's studio output, including pieces from his 1953 debut Songs by Tom Lehrer and his 1959 album More of Tom Lehrer, as well as a 1996 version of "I Got It from Agnes" and "That's Mathematics," a previously unreleased track from 1993. Disc two gathers his '59 performances at MIT and Harvard, captured on the albums Tom Lehrer Revisited and An Evening Wasted With Tom Lehrer (which offered many of the same selections as their studio predecessors). The third disc is a mix of live and studio tracks, including the material from the album That Was the Year That Was, songs written for PBS's The Electric Company in 1971-72, orchestral versions of songs conducted by Richard Hayman in 1960, and four new songs, including "Selling Out" and "(I'm Spending Hanukkah) In Santa Monica." Song-by-song notes by Lehrer, rare photos, and an essay by Dr. Demento add an extra depth to The Remains of Tom Lehrer making it the ultimate collection of his irreverent social commentary. ~ Heather Phares

    Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

    Customer Rating:
    Based on 38 ratings.
    Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
    Get Email Alerts for Tom Lehrer

    Product Info

    • UPC: 081227983123
    • Shipping Weight: 1.06/lbs (approx)
    • International Shipping: 3 items

    To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
    Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
    Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)