The Band Last Waltz (4-CD)

Last Waltz (4-CD)
218 ratings
Price: $53.98
List Price: $59.98
You Save: $6 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  359KJ
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 4/19/02, pp.72-73
"Time hasn't diminished The Band's uniqueness or mythic mystery..." - Rating: A
Q - May 2002, p.127
4 out of 5 stars - "...Ever conscious of their place in history, [The Band] went out in style....full of invention, twists and...moments of other-worldly genius..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 1/03, p.73
Ranked #3 in Mojo's "Best Box Sets & Compilations of 2002"
Mojo (Publisher) - 5/02, p.117
"...The original highlights are highlights still: Danko's heartrending solo turn on 'It Makes No Difference', big Ron's yelping 'big time, Bill, big time' turn on the Diddley-stompin' 'Who Do You Love'; the soulful Staples on the after-the-fact studio version of 'The Weight'..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Theme From The Last Waltz
  • 2.Up On Cripple Creek
  • 3.The Shape I'm In
  • 4.It Makes No Difference
  • 5.Who Do You Love?
  • 6.Life Is A Carnival
  • 7.Such A Night
  • 8.The Weight
  • 9.Down South In New Orleans
  • 10.This Wheel's On Fire
  • 11.Mystery Train
  • 12.Caldonia
  • 13.Mannish Boy
  • 14.Stage Fright

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Rag Mama Rag
  • 2.All Our Past Times
  • 3.Further On Up The Road
  • 4.Ophelia
  • 5.Helpless
  • 6.Four Strong Winds
  • 7.Coyote
  • 8.Shadows And Light
  • 9.Furry Sings The Blues
  • 10.Acadian Driftwood
  • 11.Dry Your Eyes
  • 12.The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show
  • 13.Tura Lura Lura (That's An Irish Lullaby)
  • 14.Caravan

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
  • 2.The Genetic Method / Chest Fever
  • 3.Baby Let Me Follow You Down
  • 4.Hazel
  • 5.I Don't Believe You (She Acts Like We Never Have Met)
  • 6.Forever Young
  • 7.Baby Let Me Follow You Down (Reprise)
  • 8.I Shall Be Released (Finale)
  • 9.Jam #1
  • 10.Jam #2
  • 11.Don't Do It
  • 12.Greensleeves

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.The Well
  • 2.Evangeline
  • 3.Out Of The Blue
  • 4.The Weight
  • 5.The Last Waltz Refrain
  • 6.Theme From The Last Waltz
  • 7.King Harvest (Has Surely Come)
  • 8.Tura Lura Lura (That's An Irish Lullaby)
  • 9.Caravan
  • 10.Such A Night
  • 11.Rag Mama Rag
  • 12.Mad Waltz
  • 13.Mad Waltz
  • 14.The Last Waltz Refrain

Product Description:

This 4-CD box set of THE LAST WALTZ includes the complete original album, 24 tracks of previously unreleased rehearsals, performances from the show, film, and studio demo tracks. Includes an 80-page booklet.
The Band: Robbie Robertson (vocals, guitar, piano); Richard Manuel (vocals, dobro, keyboards, drums); Levon Helm (vocals, mandolin, drums); Rick Danko (vocals, violin, bass); Garth Hudson (accordion, soprano & tenor saxophones, horns, piano, electric piano, organ, synthesizer).
Additional personnel includes: Neil Young (vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica); Joni Mitchell (vocals, acoustic guitar); Dr. John (vocals, guitar, piano, conga); Eric Clapton, Bob Dylan, Neil Diamond, Roebuck "Pops" Staples (vocals, guitar); Paul Butterfield (vocals, harmonica); Mavis Staples, Ronnie Hawkins, Muddy Waters, Van Morrison, Bobby Charles (vocals); Stephen Stills, Ron Wood (guitar); Joe "Pinetop" Perkins (piano); Ringo Starr (drums).
Producers include: Robbie Robertson, Rob Fraboni, John Simon.
Reissue producer: Robbie Robertson.
Recorded at Winterland Arena, San Franciso, California; MGM, Culver City, California; Shangri La, Malibu, California; Village Recorders, Los Angeles, California in 1976. Originally released on Warner Brothers (3146). Includes liner notes by Robbie Robertson and David Fricke.
The Band's farewell concert was lavishly presented on Thanksgiving night, 1976 at San Francisco's Winterland Ballroom. Originally released as a three-record, 30-song set, it's been expanded to 54 songs spread over four CDs. The concert presented an overview of their entire body of work, with music from most of their albums. They're joined by a series of guests who are all either peers (Van Morrison, Neil Young) and contemporaries or mentors and wsources of inspiration (Ronnie Hawkins, Muddy Waters).
With the exception of Bob Dylan, all of the artists were originally heard performing only one song with accompaniment from the Band. This longer format allows for a further look at what transpired on that night. The live material is also joined by previously unissued studio recordings, including a theme that frames the work as a whole. Additional material also includes a few rehearsal takes, demos for some of the studio tracks, and 15 minutes of jamming with even more guests (Ringo Starr, Stephen Stills). This is not a traditional career overview or hits run-through; rather, it's a celebration of this important ensemble's legacy.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 218 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Band

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227827823
  • Shipping Weight: 0.96/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)