Dick Hyman Dick Hyman's Century of Jazz Piano (6-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
3 ratings
Only 7 copies left
List Price: $59.98
Your Price: $53.98
You Save: $6 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (6 Discs)
Item:  ARBO 19348

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 6
  • Released: September 15, 2009
  • Label: Arbors Records

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - p.63
"The audio tracks highlight piano innovators from every era, via their compositions and/or imitations of their individual playing style....As jazz education, CENTURY may be the most indispensable package since the SMITHSONIAN COLLECTION OF CLASSIC JAZZ."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Gottschalk Sampler: Bamboula / Pasquinade
  • 2.Maple Leaf Rag
  • 3.Charleston Rag (Sounds of Africa)
  • 4.Heliotrope Bouquet
  • 5.Pleasant Moments
  • 6.Solace
  • 7.Odeon
  • 8.Porto Rico
  • 9.The Crave
  • 10.Carolina Shout
  • 11.Snowy Morning Blues
  • 12.Caprice Rag
  • 13.You've Got to Be Modernistic
  • 14.Shreveport Stomp
  • 15.A Monday Date
  • 16.Night Life

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Rialto Ripples
  • 2.Liza (All the Clouds'll Soon Roll By)
  • 3.Do-Do-Do
  • 4.Kitten on the Keys
  • 5.Nickel in the Slot
  • 6.Soliloquy
  • 7.In a Mist (Bixology)
  • 8.Little Rock Getaway
  • 9.Honky Tonk Train (Blues)
  • 10.(Pine Top's) Boogie Woogie
  • 11.Yancey Special
  • 12.Rollin the Boogie
  • 13.Vicksburg Blues
  • 14.Fingerbuster
  • 15.Viper Rag
  • 16.Handful of Keys
  • 17.Tea for Two
  • 18.Body and Soul
  • 19.I've Got the World on a String
  • 20.Complainin'
  • 21.Three Little Words

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.The Clothed Woman
  • 2.Tonk
  • 3.Sophisticated Lady
  • 4.Lotus Blossom (Charolette Russe)
  • 5.Basie in Brief
  • 6.It Only a Paper Moon
  • 7.16 for McKenna
  • 8.Song Without Words
  • 9.All God's Chillun Got Rhythm
  • 10.How High the Moon
  • 11.Lullaby of Birdland
  • 12.Doodlin'
  • 13.Funkus Delictus
  • 14.Moanin'
  • 15.Rose Room

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.'Round (About) Midnight
  • 2.Well, You Needn't
  • 3.Misterioso
  • 4.Blue Monk
  • 5.Evidence
  • 6.Blue Rondo a la Turk
  • 7.Kaleidoscope / A Delicate Balance
  • 8.Spain
  • 9.Dolphin Dance
  • 10.Topology
  • 11.Time Remembered
  • 12.Poor Butterfly
  • 13.Django
  • 14.Giant Steps
  • 15.What Is This Thing Called Love

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.The Venice Concert
  • 2.Convocation of the Winds
  • 3.Three Short Ones
  • 4.Corkscrews
  • 5.Parable for a Parrot
  • 6.In the Fullness of Time
  • 7.Days with Julia
  • 8.The Last Word
  • 9.Have You Heard?
  • 10.The Minotaur
  • 11.The Charlap Line
  • 12.Impromptu for Two Pianos
  • 13.Waltzing with Hank
  • 14.Roger's 21st Century Funk
  • 15.A Little Bit of John
  • 16.Derek Chews It Up
  • 17.Ralph Stridemeister
  • 18.Elegant Dr. Billy
  • 19.A Small Memorial to Wellstood
  • 20.Is He Blue?
  • 21.Kansas City Dreamin
  • 22.Joe Special Thing
  • 23.Christmas with Paul
  • 24.Decatur Stomp
  • 25.Struttin' on a Sunny Day
  • 26.Cuttin' Loose
  • 27.Ivory Strides
  • 28.Pass It Along
  • 29.South Side Boogy
  • 30.Ocean Languor
  • 31.Onyx Mood
  • 32.Bounding in F Minor
  • 33.Bird in the Roost
  • 34.Deep Groove
  • 35.Roses & Cream
  • 36.Time Play
  • 37.Passage

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.Hands-On Lesson #1 [Ragtime, From Louis Moreau Gottschalk to Scott Joplin]
  • 2.Hands-On Lesson #2 [Jelly Roll Morton]
  • 3.Hands-On Lesson #3
  • 4.Hands-On Lesson #4 [Stride Piano]
  • 5.Hands-On Lesson #5 [Earl Hines / Teddy Wilson]
  • 6.Hands-On Lesson #6 [The Rhythm Section]
  • 7.Hands-On Lesson #7 [Art Tatum]
  • 8.Hands-On Lesson #8 [Erroll Garner]
  • 9.Hands-On Lesson #9 [Bud Powell and Bebop]
  • 10.Hands-On Lesson #10 [George Shearing, Block Chords, and Orchestration]
  • 11.Hands-On Lesson #11 [Another Look at Block Chords]
  • 12.Hands-On Lesson #12
  • 13.Hands-On Lesson #13 [Nicholas Slonimsky to McCoy Tyner]
  • 14.Bonus Performance #1
  • 15.Bonus Performance #2 [Variations on Heliotrope Bouquet]
  • 16.Bonus Performance #3 [Variations on Elite Syncopations]
  • 17.Bonus Performance #4 [Carolina Shout]

Product Description:

Adapter: Dick Hyman.
Audio Mixer: Gary Baldassari.
Liner Note Author: Dick Hyman.
Recording information: Dick Hyman Music Inc., Venice, FL (1996-2007); Piano Distributers Of Satasota (1996-2007); Yamaha Showrooms, New York, NY (1996-2007).
Editor: Ron Dabbs.
Arranger: Bob Zurke.
Dick Hyman's Century of Jazz Piano was originally issued as two separate CD-R discs to allow jazz piano students and fans to hear many different styles of jazz as performed by the veteran pianist. Repackaged as a five-CD set with a separate DVD for reissue by Arbors, this improved edition has the ability to play in conventional CD and DVD players as well. Hyman has long been recognized as a very versatile player who is capable of playing any style in jazz history, one of a handful of artists who has such an ability. The five CDs, more or less, cover jazz piano roughly in the chronological order in which they came into the public domain, playing pieces either composed or associated with a number of different pianists. It is hard to imagine anyone else who can play in the manner of Jelly Roll Morton, James P. Johnson, Art Tatum, Teddy Wilson, Thelonious Monk, Lennie Tristano, Bill Evans, and McCoy Tyner (to name only a few), but Hyman does so with ease. Rather than just play straight re-creations of each player's recordings, Hyman generally incorporates his own variations and improvisations. The fifth disc may be the most interesting, as it consists of a series of Hyman's compositions and free improvisations in the manner of various pianists, along with a revisit to his 1968 piece "The Minotaur," a piece he originally composed to perform on Moog synthesizer; this version is a piano duet with Jack Fanning. On the DVD, Hyman offers more, playing examples of individual greats of each style while adding insightful commentary as to the unique aspects of each musician's approach, with the camera angles providing superb views of his hands in action. This set is complemented by a detailed booklet with Hyman's extensive liner notes, while the creative packaging allows both easy access and minimizes possible damage to the discs as they are removed from their sleeves. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Dick Hyman

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 118,811
  • UPC: 780941134827
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 6 items