Iron Mountain String Band Someday We'll Meet Again: Old Time Music

Someday We'll Meet Again: Old Time Music
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  FOWY 3836
on most orders of $75+
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Folkways Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Sally Ann
  • Buy for $0.992.Peggy Dear
  • Buy for $0.993.Chicken Reel
  • Buy for $0.994.Poor Ellen Smith
  • Buy for $0.995.Cruel War
  • Buy for $0.996.Little Maggie
  • Buy for $0.997.Waterbound
  • Buy for $0.998.Lonesome Road Blues
  • Buy for $0.999.Budded Roses
  • Buy for $0.9910.Lord Thomas and Fair Ellender
  • Buy for $0.9911.Pretty Little Willow
  • Buy for $0.9912.I Am a Pilgrim
  • Buy for $0.9913.Sourwood Mountain
  • Buy for $0.9914.Someday We'll Meet Again, Sweetheart

Product Description:

In the final volume of three recorded for Folkways Records, the Iron Mountain String Band recreate the sound of old time Appalachian mountain music from the pre-bluegrass era. The band's repertoire is made up of distinctive ballads, songs, and dance tunes, learned from 1950s field recordings from rural southwestern Virginia.

With guitar, fiddle, and banjo, intricate and rhythmic dance tunes are represented by tracks such as “Chicken Reel.” You can also hear melancholic songs of local and world events including “Cruel War,” a plaintive ballad originating from the British Isles.

Liner notes include a history of Southern Appalachian mountain music and song notes and lyrics.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Iron Mountain String Band

Product Info:

  • UPC: 093070383623
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item