Jimmy Smith Walk, Don't Run!

Walk, Don't Run!
11 ratings
Price: $8.98
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HXQ4
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Blue Note Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

"Moonlight In Vermont" may have made Johnny Smith famous, but this 1954 session with rhythm guitarist Perry Logez, bassist Arnold Fishkin and drummer Don Lamond is his masterpiece. Originially issued on two 10" LPs, these 13 songs show an innovative guitarist with astonishing technique and a lightning-fast mind. The closing "Lullaby Of Birdland" features Smith "beside himself" playing a guitar duet via pre-Natalie & Nat "King" Cole overdubbing technology. The title tune, a Johnny Smith original, became a top 10 hit six years later for The Ventures. Remastered in 24-bit from the original mono tapes.


  • 1.Walk, Don't Run
  • 2.Sophisticated Lady
  • 3.I'll Remember You
  • 4.What's New
  • 5.How About You
  • 6.In A Sentimental Mood
  • 7.Stranger In Paradise
  • 8.Someone To Watch Over Me
  • 9.Easy To Love
  • 10.Lover Man
  • 11.Autumn In New York
  • 12.'S Wonderful
  • 13.Our Love Is Here To Stay
  • 14.Lullaby Of Birdland

Product Description:

Personnel: Johnny Smith (guitar); Perry Lopez (guitar); Arnold Fishkind (double bass); Don Lamond (drums).
While the tune "Walk, Don't Run" was such a smash for the Ventures it became synonymous with their name, the version by its composer, jazz guitarist Johnny Smith, is well-worth a listen itself. This Roulette album taking its name from the song came out in 1954, after Smith had become well-established as a NBC Studios staff guitarist who could be heard on television, on radio, and with the NBC Orchestra. Smith's quartet with rhythm guitarist Perry Lopez, drummer Don Lamond and bassist Arnold Fishkin features the original version of the tune (its original title was "Opus"), as well as a host of standards including "Moonlight in Vermont," "Stranger in Paradise," "Lover Man," "Autumn in New York," "In a Sentimental Mood," and "Someone to Watch Over Me." While a fine single-string soloist, Smith was also a genius at chordal structures, which is wonderfully evidenced in "Sophisticated Lady" and "Our Love Is Here to Stay." The CD version of the album contains a pair of bonus tracks, including a version of "Lullaby of Birdland," for which Smith took a page from the Les Paul songbook and overdubbed a second guitar part for himself. This may not be the most recognizable album in the jazz guitar canon, but it is a very fine one and should be explored. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Jimmy Smith

Product Info

  • UPC: 724356044029
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)