Tony Bennett Sings The Rodgers & Hart Songbook

Sings The Rodgers & Hart Songbook
7 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HXKQ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released: May 24, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Concord Records

Description by

"Sings The Rodgers & Hart Songbook" is an undervalued gem in the glittering discography of Tony Bennett. Contains six never-before-released alternate takes.


  • 1.This Can't Be Love
  • 2.Blue Moon
  • 3.The Lady Is A Tramp
  • 4.Lover
  • 5.Manhattan
  • 6.Spring Is Here
  • 7.Have You Met Miss Jones?
  • 8.Isn't It Romantic?
  • 9.Wait Till You See Her
  • 10.I Could Write A Book
  • 11.Thou Swell
  • 12.The Most Beautiful Girl In The World
  • 13.There's A Small Hotel
  • 14.I've Got Five Dollars
  • 15.You Took Advantage Of Me
  • 16.I Wish I Were In Love Again
  • 17.This Funny World
  • 18.My Heart Stood Still
  • 19.My Romance
  • 20.Mountain Greenery
  • 21.This Can't Be Love (Alternate Take #1)
  • 22.I Could Write A Book (Alternate Take #2)
  • 23.Thou Swell (Alternate Take #2)
  • 24.The Most Beautiful Girl In The World (Alternate Take #4)
  • 25.I Wish I Were In Love Again (Alternate Take #1)
  • 26.This Funny World (Alternate Take #3)

Product Description:

Personnel: Tony Bennett (vocals); Ruby Braff (cornet); George Barnes, Wayne Wright (guitar); John Giuffrida (bass).
Recorded from September 28-30, 1973. Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald and Ruby Braff.
Digitally remastered by Dan Hersch & Bill Inglot (DigiPrep).
Personnel: Tony Bennett (vocals); Tony Bennett ; John Giuffrida (bass instrument); George Barnes, Wayne Wright (guitar); Ruby Braff (cornet).
Audio Remasterer: Seth Presant.
Audio Remixer: Seth Presant.
Liner Note Author: Will Friedwald.
Recording information: CBS Recording Studios, New York, NY (07/12/1973/07/16/1973).
Ensemble: Ruby Braff - George Barnes Quartet.
Photographer: Tommy Vano.
Soon after he left Columbia Records, Tony Bennett recorded a 20-song Rodgers & Hart set in 1973, superbly accompanied by supper-club favorites the Ruby Braff-George Barnes Quartet, and eventually released on two albums through the private Improv label in 1976 and 1977, respectively. This was a both an act of defiance and a statement of purpose on Bennett's part, for there was perhaps no more dispiriting time for singers of the great standards.
Still, Bennett chose his ammunition well, for Rodgers & Hart's breezy yet indelible romanticism had always suited this singer and also couldn't have been more out of sync with the times. Our time is a different matter however, and Rhino has seen fit to reissue the original 20-song session in fine remastered sound on one CD. The musical mood here is both tender and jaunty, as especially befits the lyrics of Lorenz Hart, for which Bennett has a particular affinity, so much so that he sings little-known extra verses of "The Most Beautiful Girl in the World" to nearly epic effect. "Jaunty" also describes the masterly trumpet interjections of the impish Braff, while the quiet swinging pulse of Barnes' guitar lends the whole project an appropriately informal air.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Tony Bennett

Product Info

  • UPC: 013431224327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)