Todd Rundgren Runt

20 ratings
Price: $9.88
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  3323F
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 25, 1990
  • Originally Released: 1983
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.97
4 stars out of 5 -- "RUNT was always lo-fi, with Rundgren purely interested in getting his songs across."


  • 1.Broke Down And Busted
  • 2.Believe In Me
  • 3.We Gotta Get You A Woman
  • 4.Who's That Man?
  • 5.Once Burned
  • 6.Devil's Bite
  • 7.I'm In The Clique
  • 8.There Are No Words
  • 9.Baby Let's Swing / The Last Thing You Said / Don't Tie My Hands
  • 10.Birthday Carol

Product Description:

Personnel: Todd Rundgren (vocals, various instruments); Don Lee Van Winkle (guitar); Mark Klingman (piano); Tony Sales (bass, percussion); Rick Danko, John Miller, Don Ferris (bass); Hunt Sales (drums, percussion); Levon Helm, Bobby Moses, Mickey Brook (drums).
Recorded at I.D. Sound Studio in Los Angeles, California and the Record Plant, New York, New York.
Personnel: Todd Rundgren (vocals, guitar); Don Lee VanWinkle (guitar, acoustic guitar); Mark "Moogy" Klingman (electric piano); Tony Sales (8-string bass, percussion); Hunt Sales (drums, percussion); Bobby Moses, Donb Ferris, Levon Helm, Michael Brooks (drums).
Recording information: I.D. Sound, LA, CA; Record Plant, NY.
Todd Rundgren's first solo album after the breakup of his '60s band the Nazz originally didn't even feature his name on the cover; despite Rundgren being the only person pictured on the sleeve, it was treated as the self-titled debut of the "band" Runt. (This also explains the confusing title of the second Runt/Rundgren album, RUNT: THE BALLAD OF TODD RUNDGREN.)
RUNT contains at least two spectacular songs, the soulful piano-rock hit "We Gotta Get You a Woman" and the snide pop-rocker "I'm in the Clique," along with the choogling opener "Broke Down and Busted"--featuring members of the Band, who shared management with Rundgren--and the first of the extended pop-soul medleys that would become a recurring theme in Rundgren's career. Though perhaps not as impressive as later masterpieces like SOMETHING/ANYTHING? and A WIZARD A TRUE STAR, RUNT is an unpretentious gem.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 20 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Todd Rundgren

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227086220
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)