Dusty Springfield Dusty In Memphis (Deluxe)

Dusty In Memphis (Deluxe)
163 ratings
List Price: $11.98
Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  DXW4
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 4/11/02, p.106
Ranked #9 in Rolling Stone's "50 Coolest Records".
Rolling Stone - 10/31/02, p.135
Ranked #3 in Rolling Stone's "Women In Rock: The 50 Essential Albums" - "...[A] British soul masterpiece..."
Rolling Stone - 11/1/69, p.42
"...most of the songs...have a great deal of depth while presenting extremely direct and simple statements about love....Dusty sings around her material, creating music that's evocative rather than overwhelming..."
Spin - p.84
"[With] the dizzying 'The Windmills of Your Mind,' and 'Breakfast in Bed' -- whose title reads like the album feels."
Entertainment Weekly - 10/9/92, p.60
"...her lighter-than-air voice carries the album aloft..." - Rating: B+
Entertainment Weekly - 3/12/99, p.71
"...It's her shining moment and just might be one of the all-time great pop albums." - Rating: A
Q - 3/95, p.119
3 Stars - Good - "...balances R&B and sensitive pop dramas..."
NME (Magazine) - 10/2/93, p.29
Ranked #54 in NME's list of the 'Greatest Albums Of All Time.'


  • 1.Just A Little Lovin'
  • 2.So Much Love
  • 3.Son Of A Preacher Man
  • 4.I Don't Want To Hear It Any More
  • 5.Don't Forget About Me
  • 6.Breakfast In Bed
  • 7.Just One Smile
  • 8.The Windmills Of Your Mind
  • 9.In The Land Of Make Believe
  • 10.No Easy Way Down
  • 11.I Can't Make It Alone
  • 12.What Do You Do When Love Dies
  • 13.Willie And Laura Mae Jones
  • 14.That Old Sweet Roll (Hi-De-Ho)
  • 15.Cherished
  • 16.Goodbye
  • 17.Make It With You
  • 18.Love Shine Down
  • 19.Live Here With You
  • 20.Natchez Trace
  • 21.All The King's Horses
  • 22.I'll Be Faithful
  • 23.Have A Good Life Baby
  • 24.You've Got A Friend
  • 25.I Found My Way

Product Description:

Personnel: Dusty Springfield (vocals); Dusty Springfield; Tommy Cogbill (guitar, bass instrument); Arif Mardin (strings); Tom Dowd (horns); Bobby Wood (piano); Mike Leach, Mike Leech (congas); Reggie Young (guitar, sitar); Bobby Emmons (piano, electric piano, organ, congas); Gene Chrisman (drums); The Sweet Inspirations (background vocals).
Audio Remasterer: Daniel Hersch.
Liner Note Authors: Jim Feldman; Jim Pierson.
Recording information: American Studios, Memphis, TN (09/1968-06/1971); Century Sound Studio, NY (09/1968-06/1971); Groove Sound Studio, NY (09/1968-06/1971); Sigma Sound Studios, Philadelphia, PA (09/1968-06/1971).
Director: Gene Orloff.
Photographer: David Redfern.
Arrangers: Tom Dowd; Arif Mardin; Thom Bell.
Not only is this Dusty's finest work, it is unanimously acknowledged as one of the great soul albums. The secret is in the production. Jerry Wexler, Tommy Dowd, and Arif Mardin enlisted the Sweet Inspirations and the best Memphis session boys for vocal support. Dusty's selection of material is exemplary, choosing songs by Randy Newman, Mann/Weill, Goffin/King, and Bacharach/David. This should have made her an international megastar; instead it scraped the US Top 100, failed to chart in the UK, and started her slow decline. It is a faultless record on which we have, thankfully, now recognized she was far too ahead of her time for her own good.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 163 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Dusty Springfield

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 96,868
  • UPC: 081227558024
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)