The Shadows Of Knight Oh Yeah! Best Of

Oh Yeah! Best Of
18 ratings
Price: $12.56
List Price: $13.96
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  32YV7
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Atlantic

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.139
3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]here's still just enough snotty, psychotic rocking to tickle the connoisseur's palette."


  • 1.Gloria
  • 2.Dark Side
  • 3.Oh Yeah
  • 4.Light Bulb Blues
  • 5.It Always Happens That Way
  • 6.I Got My Mojo Working
  • 7.You Can't Judge A Book (By The Cover)
  • 8.Bad Little Woman
  • 9.Gospel Zone
  • 10.I'll Make You Sorry
  • 11.I'm Gonna Make You Mine
  • 12.Peepin' And Hidin'
  • 13.Willie Jean
  • 14.The Behemoth
  • 15.Someone Like Me
  • 16.Three For Love
  • 17.Shake
  • 18.My Fire Department Needs A Fireman
  • 19.Alone
  • 20.I Am The Hunter

Product Description:

Shadows Of Knight: Joe Kelley (vocals, guitar, harmonica, bass); Jerry McGeorge (vocals, guitar); Tom Schiffour (vocals, drums); Jim Sohns (vocals, tambourine, maracas); Warren Rodgers (guitar, bass); Woody Woodruff, Dan Baughman, Jack "Hawkeye" Daniels (guitar); Dave "The Hawk" Wolinski (electric piano, organ, bass); John Fisher (bass); Kenny Turkin (drums).
Producers include: Bill Traut, George Badonsky, Joe Levine, Arthur Resnick, Jerry Kasenetz.
Compilation producers: Bill Inglot, David McLees.
Engineer: Bob Kidder.
Principally recorded at Universal Recording Corporation and Chess Recording Studios, Chicago, Illinois. Includes liner notes by Jeff Jarema.
Personnel: Joe Kelley (vocals, guitar, harp, harmonica); Jim Sohns (vocals, marimba, maracas, tambourine); Tom Schiffour (vocals, drums); Jerry McGeorge (vocals); Warren Rogers (guitar, bass guitar); Jack Daniels, Dan Baughman, Jeffrey "Woody" Woodruff (guitar); David "Hawk" Wolinski (piano, electric piano, organ); Kenny Turkin (drums).
Audio Remasterers: Ken Perry; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Author: Jeff Jarema.
Recording information: Chess Recording Studios; Universal Recording Corp., Chicago, IL.
Unknown Contributor Role: David "Hawk" Wolinski.
Probably the best of the many Shadows of Knight reissues available, and certainly the best at covering all phases of their surprisingly diverse career. DARK SIDES is a 20-track compilation featuring all the usual goodies from Rhino, including excellently remastered sound and in-depth liner notes.
Though best remembered today for their classic take on Van Morrison's "Gloria"--probably the definitive version of that oft-recorded song--the Shadows of Knight started out in the suburbs of Chicago as a tough little white blues band, specializing in punky recastings of the gems coming from the Chess studios on South Michigan Avenue. Being so close to the source, the Shadows of Knight captured the mystery of the blues much more clearly than most. That they ended up as part of the Kastenetz-Katz bubbblegum stable, doing songs like "My Fire Department Needs a Fireman," only proves how weird rock & roll can get.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 18 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Shadows Of Knight

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227172329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)