Aretha Franklin The Very Best of Aretha Franklin: The 60's

The Very Best of Aretha Franklin: The 60's
20 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.46 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.52 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  EKSC
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 22, 1994
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Atlantic


  • 1.Respect
  • 2.Baby I Love You
  • 3.I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)
  • 4.Chain Of Fools
  • 5.Do Right Woman, Do Right Man
  • 6.Natural Woman, (You Make Me Feel Like) A
  • 7.Since You've Been Gone, (Sweet Sweet Baby)
  • 8.Ain't No Way
  • 9.Think
  • 10.See Saw
  • 11.The House That Jack Built
  • 12.I Say A Little Prayer
  • 13.The Weight
  • 14.Eleanor Rigby
  • 15.Share Your Love With Me
  • 16.Call Me

Product Description:

Producers: Jerry Wexler, Tom Dowd, Arif Mardin.
Compilation producer: Gary Stewart.
Includes liner notes by Steven Ivory.
Digitally remastered by Bill Inglot and Dan Hersch (DigiPrep).
Personnel: Aretha Franklin (vocals, piano).
Liner Note Author: Steven Ivory.
If there is a better female soul singer than Aretha Franklin in this galaxy, we have not yet heard her. This Rhino compilation, while in no way comprehensive, is nonetheless an outstanding sampler of songs by one of soul music's all-time giants. Save a couple of missteps (the crossover attempts of her versions of "Elenor Rigby" and "The Weight") there's not a dud among these 16 songs and some, like "Chain of Fools," "Baby I Love You," and "Respect," rank among the greatest pop songs ever recorded.
Franklin's performances are mesmerizing and seem to embody the perfect balance between nuanced sensitivity and sheer powerhouse wailing. The combination of her unique magnetism and the quality of such songs as "Think," "I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)," and "(You Make Me Feel) Like A Natural Woman" is almost too good to be true. The album's only shortcoming is that there aren't more tracks to savor. A perfect introduction to this phenomenal singer.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 20 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Aretha Franklin

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 31,060
  • UPC: 081227159825
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the R&B / Soul genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)