Ruth Brown The Best of Ruth Brown [Rhino]

The Best of Ruth Brown [Rhino]
2 ratings
Price: $12.56
List Price: $13.96
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  H8K6
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Atlantic

Description by

The most comprehensive single-disc collection available of this R&B powerhouse's classic Atlantic Records sides.


  • 1.So Long
  • 2.Teardrops from My Eyes
  • 3.I'll Wait for You
  • 4.I Know
  • 5.Shine on (Bright Moon Shine On)
  • 6.5-10-15 Hours
  • 7.Daddy Daddy
  • 8.(Mama) He Treats Your Daughter Mean
  • 9.Wild, Wild Young Men
  • 10.Mend Your Ways
  • 11.Oh, What a Dream
  • 12.Mambo Baby
  • 13.I Can See Everybody's Baby
  • 14.As Long as I'm Movin'
  • 15.It's Love Baby (24 Hours a Day)
  • 16.Love Has Joined Us Together / Clyde McPhatter
  • 17.I Want to Do More
  • 18.Sweet Baby of Mine
  • 19.Lucky Lips
  • 20.This Little Girl's Gone Rockin'
  • 21.I Don't Know
  • 22.(Mama) He Treats Your Daughter Mean (Live)
  • 23.Oh, What a Dream (Live)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ruth Brown, Clyde McPhatter (vocals); Howard Biggs (conductor); King Curtis (saxophone); Joe Bushkin (piano); Budd Johnson's Orchestra, Eddie Condon's N.B.C. Television Orchestra.
Producers: Ahmet Ertegun, Herb Abramson, Jerry Wexler, Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller.
Compilation producers: James Austin, Peter Grendysa.
Recorded in New York City, New York between May 25, 1949 and March 7, 1959; Los Angeles, California on March 2, 1956; and live at Herndon Stadium, Atlanta, Georgia in May 1959. Includes liner notes by Peter A. Grendysa.
Personnel: Ruth Brown (vocals); King Curtis (saxophone).
Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Author: Peter Grendysa.
Recording information: Herndon Stadium, Atlanta, GA (05/25/1949-05/07/1959); Los Angeles, CA (05/25/1949-05/07/1959); New York, NY (05/25/1949-05/07/1959).
Director: Howard Biggs.
ROCKIN' IN RHYTHM: THE BEST OF RUTH BROWN is an excellent one-CD overview of Brown's work for Atlantic Records between 1949 and 1959. Not all the hits are here, of course; Brown had so many that Atlantic was often referred to as "The House that Ruth Built." What you'll find on ROCKIN' IN RHYTHM, however, is indisputably choice Brown, including such signature tunes as "Mama, He Treats Your Daughter Mean" and "5-10-15 Hours."
You'll also find two fascinating, previously unreleased live tracks from an Atlanta show in '59. The sound on these recordings is surprisingly good. It's so well recorded, in fact, that you'll quickly be able to single out the band member playing on "Oh What a Dream" under the influence of controlled substances. Anyone with an appetite for yet more Brown is advised to check out the two-CD MISS RHYTHM: GREATEST HITS AND MORE.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ruth Brown

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227245023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)