Grateful Dead Very Best of Grateful Dead

Very Best of Grateful Dead
57 ratings
Only 5 copies left
Sale: $17.98
SUPER SAVINGS: $16.59 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $3.39 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  H8E6
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

The Allman Brothers Band
  • The Allman Brothers Band Enlightened Rogues (CD) ~ $5.97
  • CD Details

    • Released:
    • Originally Released: 2003
    • Label: Rhino


    • 1.Truckin'
    • 2.Touch Of Grey
    • 3.Sugar Magnolia
    • 4.Casey Jones
    • 5.Uncle John's Band
    • 6.Friend Of The Devil
    • 7.Franklin's Tower
    • 8.Estimated Prophet
    • 9.Eyes Of The World
    • 10.Box Of Rain
    • 11.U.S. Blues
    • 12.The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion)
    • 13.One More Saturday Night
    • 14.Fire On The Mountain
    • 15.The Music Never Stopped
    • 16.Hell In A Bucket
    • 17.Ripple

    Product Description:

    Grateful Dead: Ron "Pigpen" McKernan (vocals, acoustic guitar, keyboards, organ, congas, percussion); Jerry Garcia (vocals, guitar, pedal steel, piano); Phil Lesh (vocals, guitar, piano, bass); Bob Weir (vocals, guitar); Brent Mydland (vocals, keyboards); Donna Godchaux (vocals); Tom Constanten (piano, keyboards); Bill Kreutzmann (drums, percussion).
    Producers include: Grateful Dead, Dave Hassinger, Bob Matthews, Betty Cantor, Keith Olsen.
    Complition producers: James Austin, David Lemieux.
    Recorded between 1967 & 1987. Includes liner notes by James Austin.
    All tracks have been remastered using HDCD technology.
    Personnel: Jerry Garcia, Phil Lesh (vocals, guitar, piano); Bob Weir (vocals, guitar); Ron "Pigpen" McKernan (vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica, organ, keyboards, congas, percussion); Brent Mydland (vocals, keyboards); Donna Jean Godchaux, English Chorale (vocals); David Nelson (electric guitar); Matthew Kelly (harp); David Grisman (mandolin); Tom Scott (saxophone, lyricon); Steven Schuster (saxophone); Tom Constanten (piano, keyboards); Howard Wales, Merl Saunders (organ); Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann (drums, percussion); Jordan Amarantha (percussion).
    Audio Remasterer: Joe Gastwirt.
    Liner Note Author: James Austin.
    Photographers: Herbert Greene; Fred Ordower.
    Even though the two-disc WHAT A LONG STRANGE TRIP IT'S BEEN may have more fully anthologized the Grateful Dead's fruitful Warner years, no previous anthology has ever summarized the band's entire career, on through the slim-pickin's mid-1970s to their celebratory late-'80s comeback. In this respect, THE VERY BEST OF... can be called a nearly definitive collection. Still, this is an entry point for the casual passerby, so the psychedelic largesse of the Dead's late-'60s albums is entirely eschewed in favor of the shorter, more concise songs of their folk-rock period ("Uncle John's Band," "Friend of the Devil," etc.). Consequently, this becomes a tribute not to the improvisational warrior Dead but to the creatively songful Dead, even as we hear them age gracefully into the older, wiser "Touch of Gray," which brought them a whole new generation of admirers.

    Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

    Customer Rating:
    Based on 57 ratings.
    Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

    Similar Products

    Music Categories:
    Get Email Alerts for Grateful Dead

    Product Info

    • Sales Rank: 50,325
    • UPC: 081227389925
    • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
    • International Shipping: 1 item

    Top ranking CD:

    To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
    Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
    Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)