Jim Croce Classic Hits of Jim Croce

Classic Hits of Jim Croce
34 ratings
Price: $20.68
List Price: $22.98
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  H8DE
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released: January 27, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - 4/04, p.116
3 stars out of 5 - "[H]e popped out airy melodies by the handful, picked guitars sweetly and sang like a blue-collar James Taylor."


  • 1.You Don't Mess Around With Jim
  • 2.Operator (That's Not The Way It Feels)
  • 3.One Less Set Of Footsteps
  • 4.Bad, Bad Leroy Brown
  • 5.I Got A Name
  • 6.Time In A Bottle
  • 7.It Doesn't Have To Be That Way
  • 8.I'll Have To Say I Love You In A Song
  • 9.Workin' At The Car Wash Blues
  • 10.Photographs And Memories
  • 11.Roller Derby Queen
  • 12.New York's Not My Home
  • 13.Rapid Roy (The Stock Car Boy)
  • 14.Lover's Cross
  • 15.These Dreams
  • 16.A Long Time Ago
  • 17.Alabama Rain
  • 18.Dreamin' Again
  • 19.Salon And Saloon
  • 20.Thursday

Product Description:

Personnel: Jim Croce (vocals, guitar); Maury Muehleisen (guitar).
Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Author: David Wild.
Photographers: Paul Wilson; Tommy O'Neal; Glenn A. Baker.
Since the bulk of Jim Croce's discography consists of compilations that shuffle "You Don't Mess Around with Jim," "Bad, Bad Leroy Brown," "Operator," "Time in a Bottle," and "I Got a Name" in a seemingly endless series of permutations, it's easy to be suspicious of another collection, particularly one bearing the nondescript title Classic Hits. But Classic Hits is from Rhino Records, not a budget label like Disky, and they have put together the first serious Croce hits compilation since 1992's double-disc The 50th Anniversary Collection. That collection, while comprehensive, had limited appeal since only hardcore fans need 49 Croce songs in one compilation, so this is the first noteworthy single-disc compilation since the first Croce hits album, the 1974 LP Photographs & Memories. Every one of the 14 songs on that album is here, but the "Classic Hits" billing doesn't mean all of his charting singles are here -- posthumous minor hit "Chain Gang Medley" is absent. Even so, it's not missed much, and even if there is an album cut or two, such as "Speedball Tucker," that would have been welcome, the 20 songs here contain all of the core Croce canon, along with a good cross-section of album tracks, good liner notes from David Wild, and good sound. Out of all the countless Croce comps on the market, it's easily the best. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 34 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Jim Croce

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 33,089
  • UPC: 081227389024
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)