Aretha Franklin Amazing Grace: The Complete Recordings (2-CD Set)

Amazing Grace: The Complete Recordings (2-CD Set)
65 ratings
Price: $19.78
List Price: $21.98
You Save: $2.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  332EY
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: May 4, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Atlantic

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Organ Introduction (On Our Way)
  • 2.Opening Remarks
  • 3.On Our Way
  • 4.Aretha's Introduction
  • 5.Wholy Holy
  • 6.You'll Never Walk Alone
  • 7.What A Friend We Have In Jesus
  • 8.Precious Memories
  • 9.How I Got Over
  • 10.Precious Lord, Take My Hand / You've Got A Friend
  • 11.Climbing Higher Mountains
  • 12.Amazing Grace
  • 13.My Sweet Lord
  • 14.Give Yourself To Jesus

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Organ Introduction (On Our Way) / Opening Remarks
  • 2.On Our Way
  • 3.Aretha's Introduction
  • 4.What A Friend We Have In Jesus
  • 5.Wholy Holy
  • 6.Climbing Higher Mountains
  • 7.God Will Take Care Of You
  • 8.Old Landmark
  • 9.Mary, Don't You Weep
  • 10.Never Grow Old
  • 11.Remarks By Reverend C.L. Franklin
  • 12.Precious Memories
  • 13.My Sweet Lord

Product Description:

Personnel: Aretha Franklin (vocals, arranger, piano, celeste); Rev. James Cleveland (vocals, director, piano); Southern California Community Choir (vocals); Cornell Dupree (guitar); Ken Lupper (organ); Chuck Rainey (bass); Bernard Purdie (drums); Pancho Morales (congas).
Producers: Jerry Wexler, Arif Mardin, Aretha Franklin.
Reissue producers: Patrick Milligan, Reggie Collins.
This edition of AMAZING GRACE contains two unedited live performances recorded at New Temple Missionary Baptist Church, Los Angeles, California on January 13-14, 1972. Includes liner notes by David Nathan, Reggie Collins & Patrick Milligan.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Aretha Franklin (vocals, piano); James Cleveland (vocals, piano); Cornell Dupree (guitar); Kenneth Lupper (organ); Bernard "Pretty" Purdie (drums); Pancho Morales (congas).
Recording information: New Temple Missionary Baptist C (01/13/1972-01/14/1972).
Long before she ascended the throne and donned the mantle of the Queen Of Soul, Aretha Franklin was a child of the church. Franklin's pedigree demanded such, since her father was the famous Reverend C.L. Franklin, and her mother was herself a gospel singer. AMAZING GRACE was Lady Soul's return to her roots after hitting the secular stride of her fantastic strings of albums on Atlantic.
Recorded over two days at Los Angeles' New Temple Missionary Baptist Church, AMAZING GRACE finds Franklin backed by her studio band and joined by a choir led by family friend and gospel icon James Cleveland. Franklin's singing is unfettered and filled with a spirit not heard in her secular material. Most interesting is her seamless choice of material. She gives pop songs by Marvin Gaye ("Wholy Holy") and Carole King ("You've Got A Friend") a spiritual sheen, placing them alongside more traditional fare by Clara Ward ("How I Got Over") and Thomas Dorsey ("Precious Lord, Take My Hand"). Equally impressive are Franklin's rich arrangements, her interaction with the Southern California Community Choir, and her often overlooked piano playing on such songs as "Never Grow Old."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 65 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Aretha Franklin

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227562724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)