Average White Band Person to Person (Live) (2-CD)

Person to Person (Live) (2-CD)
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  JKCD 4046
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1976
  • Label: Rhino

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Person to Person
  • 2.Cut the Cake
  • 3.If I Ever Lose This Heaven
  • 4.Cloudy
  • 5.T.L.C.

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I'm the One
  • 2.Pick up the Pieces
  • 3.Love Your Life
  • 4.School Boy Crush
  • 5.I Heard It Through the Grapevine

Product Description:

Average White Band: Alan Gorrie, Hamish Stuart (vocals, guitar, bass), Onnie McIntyre (guitar, background vocals), Roger Ball (alto saxophone, keyboards, synthesizer), Malcolm "Molly" Duncan (tenor saxophone), Steve Ferrone (drums, percussion).
Recorded at Tower Theater and The Spectrum, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; The Syria Mosque, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; The Coliseum, Cleveland, Ohio. Originally released on Atlantic (21002). Includes liner notes by A. Scott Galloway.
All songs written or co-written by members of Average White Band except "If I Ever Lose This Heaven" (Ware/Sawyer) and "I Heard It Through The Grapevine" (Norman Whitfield/Barrett Strong).
Personnel: Hamish Stuart , Alan Gorrie, Onnie McIntyre (vocals, guitar); Roger Ball (saxophone, keyboards); Malcolm Duncan (saxophone); Steve Ferrone (drums).
Liner Note Author: A. Scott Galloway.
Recording information: Coliseum, Cleveland, OH; Spectrum, Philadelphia, PA; Syria Mosque, Pittsburgh, PA; Tower Theater, Philadelphia, PA.
Scotland's Average White Band was in a celebratory mood on its third major-label release, the live double-album Person to Person. Following the crossover success of the band's self-titled debut and subsequent Cut the Cake, Person to Person presented the six-piece R&B/funk act stretching out on most of its hits. Lead vocalists Alan Gorrie and Hamish Stuart switch between guitar and bass chores throughout, and drive the opening title track and "Cut the Cake." The ballads "If I Ever Lose This Heaven" and "Cloudy" provide nice changes of pace; rhythm guitarist Onnie McIntyre and drummer Steve Ferrone shine on lesser-known gems like "I'm the One" and "Love Your Life." But the real prize of this collection is an 18-minute version of the Average White Band's biggest hit, the instrumental "Pick Up the Pieces." After the expected solos from the studio version by saxophonists Roger Ball and Malcolm "Molly" Duncan, McIntyre, Stuart, Gorrie, and Ferrone take extended leads in this masterpiece of editing -- the track actually features different versions from four concert halls, all spliced together so that each musician could have the solo of his choice represented. A few walk-through versions ("T.L.C.," "School Boy Crush," and the Marvin Gaye hit "Heard It Through the Grapevine") away from being a classic, Person to Person still shows what a great live act this underrated band was in its heyday. ~ Bill Meredith

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Average White Band

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227127022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)