Tim Buckley Morning Glory: The Tim Buckley Anthology (2-CD)

Morning Glory: The Tim Buckley Anthology (2-CD)
21 ratings
Price: $23.22
List Price: $24.98
You Save: $1.76 (7% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  332AW
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 20, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Elektra / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 3/29/01, p.63
3.5 stars out of 5 - "...Buckley experimented to the end, sometimes brilliantly...sometimes to his enduring embarrassment, but always with a consequences-be-damned conviction."
Entertainment Weekly - 3/30/01, p.69
"...Tim had a voice in a million: He sounded like an angel on earth..." - Rating: A
Q - 5/01, p.129
4 stars out of 5 - "...Explains why Tim is revered as one of American rock's most unique talents....Most of his best songs are here..."
Alternative Press - 5/01, pp.68-9
3 out of 5 - "...Effectively maps Buckley's musical vagaries....amply proving that not only was his vocal prowess peerless, but his ability to move listeners emotionally was even more impressive..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 4/01, p.116
"...Those who've never heard the man couldn't ask for a more balanced introduction..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Wings
  • 2.She Is
  • 3.Song Slowly Song
  • 4.It Happens Every Time
  • 5.Aren't You The Girl
  • 6.Pleasant Street
  • 7.Hallucinations
  • 8.No Man Can Find The War
  • 9.Once I Was
  • 10.Morning Glory
  • 11.Goodbye And Hello
  • 12.Buzzin' Fly
  • 13.Strange Feelin'
  • 14.Sing A Song For You
  • 15.Phantasmagoria In Two (Live)
  • 16.I've Been Out Walking (Live)
  • 17.Troubadour (Live)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Happy Time
  • 2.Chase The Blues Away
  • 3.I Must Have Been Blind
  • 4.The River
  • 5.So Lonely
  • 6.Blue Melody
  • 7.I Had A Talk With My Woman (Live)
  • 8.Moulin Rouge
  • 9.Song To The Siren
  • 10.Monterey
  • 11.Sweet Surrender
  • 12.Hong Kong Bar
  • 13.Make It Right
  • 14.Sally Go 'Round The Roses
  • 15.Who Could Deny You
  • 16.Song To The Siren

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Tim Buckley (vocals, 12-string & slide guitars, vibraphone, kalimba); Lee Underwood, Joe Falsia (guitar); Jerry Yester (piano, keyboards, background vocals); Van Dyke Parks (harpsichord); Mark Tiernan (keyboards); Jim Fielder, Jimmy Bond, Danny Thompson, Jim Hughart, John Balkin, John Miller, Chuck Rainey (bass); David Friedman (vibraphone); Maury Baker (drums, tympani); Billy Mundi (drums, percussion); Ed Greene, Jimmy Madison (drums); Carter C.C. Collins (congas, percussion); Clydie King, Venetta Fields (background vocals).
Producers include: Jac Holzman, Jerry Yester, Dick Kunc, Paul Rothschild, Tim Buckley.
Compilation producer: James Austin.
Engineers include: Bruce Botnick, Stan Agol, Dick Kunc.
Recorded between August 1966 & July 1974. Includes liner notes by Lee Underwood & Barry Alfonso.
Digitally remastered by Dan Hersch & Bill Inglot (DigiPrep).
Personnel: Tim Buckley (vocals, 12-string guitar, slide guitar, kalimba); Brian Hartzler, Joe Falsia, Lee Underwood, Ray Pohlman, Steve Khan (guitar); Louis Kievman, Robert Konrad, William Kurash (violin); Harry Hyams, Ralph Schaeffer (viola); Jesse Ehrlich (cello); Henry Diltz (harmonica); Buzz Gardner (trumpet); Mike Melvoin (piano, organ, Moog synthesizer); Don Randi (piano, keyboards); Kevin Kelly (piano); Van Dyke Parks (harpsichord); Jerry Yester (keyboards, background vocals); Mark Tiernan (keyboards); David Friedman (vibraphone); John Miller (electric bass); Maury Baker (drums, timpani); Billy Mundi (drums, percussion); Earl Palmer , Ed Greene, Buddy Helm, Fast Eddie Hoh, Jim Gordon , Jimmy Madison, Roy Harte (drums); Carter C.C. Collins (congas, percussion); King Errisson (congas); Jerry Goldstein (hand claps); Gary Coleman (percussion); Alena (dancer); Clydie King, Sherlie Matthews, Venetta Fields (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Bruce Botnick.
Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Authors: James Austin; Lee Underwood; Barry Alfonso.
Recording information: Elektra Sound recorders, Los Angeles, CA (08/16/1966-11/??/1967); Far Out Studios, Hollywood, CA (08/16/1966-11/??/1967); Paramount Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA (08/16/1966-11/??/1967); Queen Elizabeth Hall, London, England (08/16/1966-11/??/1967); Screen Gems Studio 7, Hollywood, CA (08/16/1966-11/??/1967); Sunset Sound Recorders, Hollywood, CA (08/16/1966-11/??/1967); Sunset-Highland Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA (08/16/1966-11/??/1967); T.T.G (08/16/1966-11/??/1967); The Record Plant, Los Angeles, CA (08/16/1966-11/??/1967); The Troubadour, West Hollywood, CA (08/16/1966-11/??/1967); Wally Heider Recording, Hollywood, CA (08/16/1966-11/??/1967); Western Recorders, Hollywood, CA (08/16/1966-11/??/1967); Whitney Studios, Glendale, CA (08/16/1966-11/??/1967).
Introduction by: Micky Dolenz.
Photographers: Guy Webster; David Gahr; Lee Tanner.
It's taken America a long time to come around to the magic of '60s/'70s troubadour Tim Buckley. During his tragically brief, incredibly prolific lifetime, Buckley proved to be a truly eclectic visionary, careening madly from folk-rock to boldly experimental work to quirky R&B and more. His unearthly, elastic tenor was a thing of rare beauty, as Buckley weaving his way through a song with the abandon of a rocker and the fluidity and grace of a jazzman. Buckley never broke through commercially, but his reputation has subsequently grown to impressive cult status. While he's long been revered in other countries, his homeland never even eked out a decent collection of his work until this two-disc marvel.
Hardcore Buckley fans might complain that MORNING GLORY contains only one previously unreleased song (an enthralling "Song to the Siren" taken from a MONKEES episode), but they'd been catered to by a wealth of live and unreleased material becoming available in the previous few years. For anyone just discovering Buckley, or simply desirous of one definitive compilation, this is a gem. In the sunny folk-jazz of "Strange Feelin'," the eerie artsong "Song to the Siren," and the lascivious R&B of "Hong Kong Bar," MORNING GLORY portrays a brilliant, mercurial artist whose destiny would remain sadly unfulfilled. This collection's one flaw is the absence of Buckley's most avant garde works, but it still contains an embarrassment of riches.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 21 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Tim Buckley

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227672225
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)