Harry Chapin Story of A Life (3-CD Box Set)

Story of A Life (3-CD Box Set)
32 ratings
Hurry! Only 1 copy left Sorry no back-orders
SUPER SAVINGS: $60.84 Limited Time Only
List Price: $67.96
You Save: $7.12 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  332AF
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: October 19, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Elektra / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 2/00, p.98
4 stars out of 5 - "...Chapin's immense gifts unfold themselves generously and, as if to celebrate the man himself, the sleeve notes are astoundingly dull."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Taxi
  • 2.Someone Keeps Calling My Name
  • 3.Could You Put Your Light On, Please
  • 4.Empty
  • 5.Greyhound
  • 6.Any Old Kind Of Day
  • 7.Sunday Morning Sunshine
  • 8.Sniper
  • 9.Better Place To Be
  • 10.They Call Her Easy
  • 11.Mr. Tanner
  • 12.Mail Order Annie
  • 13.W*O*L*D
  • 14.Old College Avenue
  • 15.Circle

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Short Stories
  • 2.Cat's In The Cradle
  • 3.I Wanna Learn A Love Song
  • 4.30,000 Pounds Of Bananas
  • 5.Shooting Star
  • 6.What Made America Famous?
  • 7.Vacancy
  • 8.Dreams Go By
  • 9.Tangled Up Puppet
  • 10.The Rock
  • 11.She Is Always Seventeen
  • 12.The Mayor Of Candor Lied
  • 13.Caroline
  • 14.Laugh Man
  • 15.Taxi

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Corey's Coming
  • 2.If My Mary Were Here
  • 3.Dance Band On The Titanic
  • 4.Mismatch
  • 5.I Wonder What Happened To Him
  • 6.Dancin' Boy
  • 7.Flowers Are Red
  • 8.Poor Damned Fool
  • 9.Jenny
  • 10.I Wonder What Would Happen To This World
  • 11.Old Folkie
  • 12.Remember When The Music
  • 13.God Babe, You've Been Good For Me
  • 14.Story Of A Life
  • 15.November Rains
  • 16.Sequel
  • 17.Last Stand

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Harry Chapin (vocals, 6- & 12-string acoustic guitars, harmonica, trumpet); Tom Chapin (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, banjo, background vocals); Steve Chapin (guitar, recorder, acoustic, electric & tack pianos, organ, keyboards, synthesizer, bass, background vocals); Don Grolnick (acoustic & electric pianos, harpsichord, Russ Kunkel (drums, congas, percussion); Jim Chapin, Steve Gadd, Jim Keltner (drums); Kris Kristoferson, Rita Coolidge (background vocals).
Producers include: The Chapin Brothers, Jac Holzman, Fred Kewley, Paul Leka, Chuck Plotkin.
Compilation producers: Mike Ragogna, David McLees.
Includes liner notes by Sandy Chapin, Steve Chapin, Tom Chapin, Josh Chapin, Jenny Chapin, James Chapin, Mike Ragogna, David Okamoto, Father Bill Ayres.
Digitally remastered by Andrew Garver and Bill Inglot.
Personnel: Doug Walker (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, mandolin); Tom Chapin (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, banjo, background vocals); Chuck Kirkpatrick (vocals, electric guitar); Big John Wallace (vocals, bass guitar, background vocals); Zizi Roberts, Herbert Rhoad, Joe Russell, The Dixie Hummingbirds (vocals); Rob White (whistling, background vocals); Steve Chapin (guitar, recorder, piano, organ, keyboards, synthesizer, background vocals); Lou Volpe (guitar); John Tropea (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, sitar); Grant Geissman (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Gene Bianco (harp); Ken Smith (mandolin, flute, hand claps); Kim Scholes (cello, keyboards); Ron Evanuik, Yvonne Cable, Michael Masters, Tim Scott (cello); Harold Keinz (flute, piccolo, oboe, English horn); Dave Armstrong, David Burgen (harmonica); Frank Porto (accordion); Buzz Brauner (alto recorder, tenor saxophone); Ed Bednarski (clarinet); Dennis Frick (bassoon); Jackie Kelso (baritone saxophone); Chuck Findley, Steve Madaio (trumpet); Dick Hyde, George Bohannon, Harry DiVito (trombone); Paul Leka (piano, celesta, harpsichord, Clavinet, keyboards); Don Grolnick (piano, electric piano, harpsichord); Jon Cobert (piano, synthesizer); Pat Coil, Tim Moore (piano); Ron Bacchiocchi (Clavinet, synthesizer, hand claps); Clair Marlo (synthesizer); Neil Jason (bass guitar); Russ Kunkel (drums, congas, percussion); Howie Fields, M.B. Gordy (drums, percussion); Phil Forbes, Buddy Salzman, Bobby Carlin, Jim Chapin, Jim Keltner, Andy Newmark, Steve Gadd , Allan Schwartzberg (drums); Bob Springer (congas, castanets, hand claps, percussion, chimes); Victoria (congas); Chris Waite (tambourine); Jeff Gross , Mike Solomon (hand claps, background vocals); Jimmy Keyes, Paul Gabriel , Tom Smith, Scott Spray, Cheryl Ferrio, Bob Smith (hand claps); Joe Lala, Arthur Jenkins , Steve Foreman, Bobbye Hall (percussion); Steve Randall, Craig Mitchell, David Kondziela, Bernie Keising, Sue White, Frank Simms, Kathy Ramos, Nancy Newman, Art Krahulck, Donna Fein, Marsh Lynn Goldberg, Jeanne French, Donna D. Reilly, Muffy Hendrix, Theodore Marnel, Tomi Lee Bradley, Carolyn Dennis, Betsy Wager, Barbara Lindquist, Sandra Chalmers, John Quayle, Chrissy Faith, Kris Kristofferson, Rita Coolidge, The Cowsills, Barbara Carr, Billy Swan, George Simms (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Chuck Plotkin; Jim Niper; Bobby Thomas; Keith Walsh.
Audio Remasterers: Andrew Garver; Bill Inglot.
Illustrator: Rob White .
Photographers: The Chapin Family; Elspeth Hart; Ruth Bernal.
Arrangers: Big John Wallace; Fred Kewley; Paul Leka.
Harry Chapin was always a bit of a polarizing figure, attracting many dedicated fans but never earning much critical respect. Rhino's comprehensive three-disc box set Story of a Life doesn't really offer an opportunity for re-evaluation, nor does it even try to win over doubters. Instead, it tells a thorough history of Chapin's career, not missing a single hit or major song along the way. There are some rarities scattered throughout the set, mostly live tracks, but also the Chapin Brothers' 1966 single "Someone Keeps Calling My Name." However, the box shouldn't be seen as a treasure trove of unreleased material; instead, it's a journey through Chapin's career, providing an exhaustively detailed travelogue. Really, it contains too much material for anyone but the die-hard fan. But that's where Story of a Life is a success -- it's a loving tribute to Chapin, made with the cooperation of his estate and designed for his loving fans. It works quite well on that level, even if it's far too much for the average fan who just likes "Taxi" and "Cat's in the Cradle." ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 32 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Harry Chapin

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 44,626
  • UPC: 081227587529
  • Shipping Weight: 1.11/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)