Spinal Tap Break Like The Wind

Break Like The Wind
29 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  USP 12370
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: MCA Special Products

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 4/2/92, p.45
3 Stars - Good - "..great parodists... amplifies the absurdity of pop music in general.."
Q - 5/92, p.84
4 Stars - Excellent
NME (Magazine) - 10/28/00, p.40
666 out of 10 - "...Extra tenderness and extra balls - tender balls, if you will. The sound is sharper, the arrangements broader, but tunes like 'Bitch School' and 'Christmas With The Devil' are classic Tap with double helpings of Tapology....Unenlightened, unimproved, unapologetic - it doesn't get more Tap than this."


  • Buy for $0.991.Bitch School
  • Buy for $0.992.The Majesty Of Rock
  • Buy for $0.993.Diva Fever
  • Buy for $0.994.Just Begin Again
  • Buy for $0.995.Cash On Delivery
  • Buy for $0.996.The Sun Never Sweats
  • Buy for $0.997.Rainy Day Sun
  • Buy for $0.998.Break Like The Wind
  • Buy for $0.999.Stinkin' Up The Great Outdoors
  • Buy for $0.9910.Springtime
  • Buy for $0.9911.Clam Caravan
  • Buy for $0.9912.Christmas With The Devil
  • Buy for $0.9913.Now Leaving On Track 13
  • Buy for $0.9914.All The Way Home

Product Description:

Contains an untitled hidden track between "Clam Caravan" and "Christmas With The Devil."
Spinal Tap: David St. Hubins (Michael McKean) (vocals, guitar); Nigel Tufnel (Christopher Guest) (vocals, guitar); Derek Smalls (Harry Shearer) (vocals, bass).
Additional personnel includes: Caucasian Jeffrey Vanston (keyboards); Ric Shrimpton (drums); Slash, Jeff Beck, Joe Satriani, Steve Lukather, Cher.
Producers: Danny Kortchmar, Dave Jerden, Steve Lukather, T-Bone Burnett, Spinal Tap.
Engineers include: Niko Bolas, Bryan Caristrom, Marc DeSisto.
Recorded at The Sound Factory, Hollywood, California; Record One, Sherman Oaks, California; West Side Studios, London, England; Rumbo Recorders, Canoga Park, California. Includes liner notes by Walter Becker.
Since Spinal Tap only existed for the 1984 film This Is Spinal Tap, the idea that Michael McKean, Christopher Guest, and Harry Shearer were actually going to release a studio album rather than a soundtrack brought on a tremendous amount of anticipation. The resulting product is Break Like the Wind, a record that, like the 1984 soundtrack, boasts powerful guitar and surprisingly decent vocals, along with some quite silly song themes. Unfortunately, when it comes to satirical bands, one can only hear these kind of songs a certain number of times before they become tedious. Instead of sticking to its roots, the album is also sometimes overshadowed by its celebrity appearances and heavy performances, which make it seem like the players were actually trying to make their listeners think that the album wasn't just a big joke. Break Like the Wind may have not been the comeback everyone was hoping for, but it certainly has enough amusing moments to be worth a listen. ~ Barry Weber

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.1
Based on 29 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Spinal Tap

Product Info

  • UPC: 008811237028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)