Another Level From The Heart

From The Heart
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $7.67 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.99
You Save: $1.32 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  332Q3
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sony UK


  • 1.Freak Me
  • 2.From The Heart
  • 3.Bomb Diggy
  • 4.Be Alone No More
  • 5.Holding Back The Years
  • 6.What You Know About Me
  • 7.Guess I Was A Fool
  • 8.Don't Cry
  • 9.I Want You For Myself
  • 10.Summertime
  • 11.My Girl
  • 12.From The Heart (Frankie Knuckles Mix)
  • 13.Freak Me (Rich Boogie Remix)
  • 14.Guess I Was A Fool (Opaz Remix)
  • 15.I Want You For Myself (Full Intention Mix)
  • 16.I Can See You In My Mind (Live Session)

Product Description:

Alongside Damage, four-piece vocal group Another Level were the only '90s U.K. boy band who successfully managed to emulate the slick R&B of U.S. acts like Jodeci and Dru Hill. A more edgy, credible, and soulful alternative to the teeny bopper likes of A1, Five, and Westlife, their career may have been rather short-lived, (just over 18 months passed between their debut and their swan song singles), but as this 15-track compilation shows, their impressive run of hits has stood the test of time far more than their contemporaries. Very Best of Another Level takes five tracks apiece from their 1998 self-titled debut, and 1999 follow-up Nexus, plus one B-side (a faithful rendition of Simply Red's "Holding Back the Years"), four remixes of their biggest hits from the likes of Frankie Knuckles and Full Intention, and a live acoustic performance of album track "I Can See You in My Mind." Their only chart-topper, "Freak Me," a seductive cover version of Silk's 1993 U.S. hit, remains their signature tune, but they were just as capable of producing addictive, smooth urban pop with their own material. "Guess I Was a Fool" is an authentic stab at brass-infused Motown which showcases the underrated vocals of Dane Bowers, often overlooked by his various tabloid-baiting activities; "My Girl" is a harmonious slice of acoustic-driven soul reminiscent of Boyz II Men; while even nonsensical lyrics like "jello jello, goody chocolate puddy" can't detract from the infectious guitar licks and two-step garage-lite rhythms of their final release, "Bomb Diggy." Consolidating their street credentials, the group were also joined by a host of respected U.S. hip-hop artists on perhaps their three best tracks. Wu-Tang Clan's Ghostface Killah lends his spitfire MC skills to the twinkling keys and brooding synth basslines of "I Want You for Myself," cruelly denied the number one spot by cheesy boy band 911, West Coast vocalist TQ provides a streetwise edge to the chilled-out vibes of "Summertime," while prolific rap legend Jay-Z makes a surprising appearance on the gorgeous melancholic R&B of "Be Alone No More." The Next covers and Stevie Wonder collaborations of Blue may have stolen their thunder two years later, but Very Best proves that Another Level were the classier act. ~ Jon O'Brien

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 743219263926
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)