Les Paul Legendary Duo At Their Best! (3-CD Box Set)

Legendary Duo At Their Best! (3-CD Box Set)
3 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  COL 0091
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

This three-disc collection is comprised of six original albums ("The Hit Makers", "Time To Dream", "Bye Bye Blues", "Les And Mary", "The New Sound" and "The New Sound, Volume 2") from Les Paul & Mary Ford.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.How High The Moon
  • 2.Josephine
  • 3.Mockin' Bird Hill
  • 4.Whispering Grass
  • 5.Vaya Con Dios (May God Be With You)
  • 6.I'm A Fool To Care
  • 7.The World Is Waiting For The Sunrise
  • 8.Meet Mister Callaghan
  • 9.Tiger Rag
  • 10.Tennessee Waltz
  • 11.I'm Sitting On Top Of The World
  • 12.Whither Thou Goest
  • 13.That Old Feeling
  • 14.Bewitched
  • 15.My Silent Love
  • 16.I Surrender, Dear
  • 17.You Call It Madness (But I Call It Love)
  • 18.June In January
  • 19.Moonlight And Shadows
  • 20.I Can't Get Started
  • 21.How Deep Is The Ocean
  • 22.Sweet And Lovely
  • 23.Prisoner Of Love
  • 24.If I Had You

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Wabash Blues
  • 2.Bye Bye Blues
  • 3.Blues Stay Away From Me
  • 4.Deep In The Blues
  • 5.It's A Lonesome Old Town
  • 6.Walkin' And Whistlin' Blues
  • 7.St. Louis Blues
  • 8.Mammy's Boogie
  • 9.Frankie And Johnny
  • 10.Don't Cry Baby
  • 11.Jazz Me Blues
  • 12.Smoke Rings
  • 13.Falling In Love With Love
  • 14.On The Sunny Side Of The Street
  • 15.Just One Of Those Things
  • 16.Twelfth Street Rag
  • 17.Lies
  • 18.Turista
  • 19.Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
  • 20.Nuevo Laredo
  • 21.The Best Things In Life Are Free
  • 22.Moritat, Theme From "Three Penny Opera"
  • 23.Some Of These Days
  • 24.Tico, Tico
  • 25.Baby, Won't You Please Come Home
  • 26.Dangerous Curves
  • 27.I'm Movin' On
  • 28.Farewell (For Just Awhile)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Brazil
  • 2.Hipbillie Boogie
  • 3.Swiss Woodpecker
  • 4.Caravan
  • 5.Sleep
  • 6.Lady Of Spain
  • 7.Lover
  • 8.The Man On The Flying Trapeze
  • 9.By The Light Of The Silv'ry Moon
  • 10.What Is This Thing Called Love
  • 11.Nola
  • 12.South
  • 13.In The Good Old Summertime
  • 14.Three Little Words
  • 15.Lonesome Road
  • 16.Chicken Reel
  • 17.I'm Confessin'
  • 18.The Carioca
  • 19.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 20.Just One More Chance
  • 21.I'm Forever Blowing Bubbles
  • 22.The Moon Of Manakoora
  • 23.Don't Cha Hear Them Bells
  • 24.La Rosita

Product Description:

Also available on Collectables as 3 separate 2-for-1 CDs.
Adapter: Les Paul.
Liner Note Author: Al Fichera.
Arranger: Les Paul.
The silky smooth vocals of Mary Ford blended with the brilliant playing skills of Les Paul produced some of the best pop music of the '50s. On the Legendary Duo at Their Best box set, six of the albums they released between 1950 and 1957 are represented on three CDs. This is a high point for both musicians, as their work together was a perfect fit and their careers before and after this period was never as good as what is here. Starting with 1950's The Hitmakers, the collection showcases some of the best work the duo ever did. Performing in a country style, Paul shines on this album, as his unique ringing guitar and nimble fingers sound absolutely beautiful. The second half of this disc is dedicated to Time to Dream, the commercially disappointing 1957 recording that signaled the beginning of the end for their partnership. It is a far more relaxed affair than anything else on the set, Paul's flashy playing takes a backseat to careful strumming and sappy ballads. The album is alright, but compared to everything else in the collection it falls below their standard. The second disc features Bye Bye Blues and Les and Mary, two fantastic albums that may represent their best moments in music. Both albums are very similar, as they have an equal mix of Paul's inspirational guitar technique and Ford's expressive vocals. The smoother production and poppier material help this maintain its quality, and best of all it includes "Mammy's Boogie," a burst of brilliant guitar fury that stands with Hendrix's "Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)" and Van Halen's "Eruption" as one of the most important technical moments in guitar history. The last disc contains the two volumes of The New Sound, the albums that practically introduced Paul and Ford to the public. The first volume features only Paul, and is one of the great guitar albums of the decade. His skill and ability never fails to amaze, even today he still sounds like the future of guitar. The second volume was the first to feature Ford, and it may be her best performance on the set. Her breathy vocals on "I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)" are nothing short of great, displaying her skill for setting up a mood to display Paul's incredible flourishes. The set may not be great from front to back, but these recordings are a must for any follower of guitar history, as well as anyone who is interested to hear one of the most charismatic guitarists of the 20th century at his prime. ~ Bradley Torreano
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Les Paul

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431009123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)