Mandrill Ultimate Collection (4-CD Box Set)

Ultimate Collection (4-CD Box Set)
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  COL 0084
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Brooklyn-based band Mandill was one of the most musically ambitious Funk bands of the 1970s - merging together influences raging from Blues, Soul, to Rock and Afro-Latin. These collection features their four original Polydor albums and include such great tunes as "Fencewalk", "Mandrill" and "Hang Loose".

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Mandrill
  • 2.Warning Blues
  • 3.Symphonic Revolution
  • 4.Rollin' On
  • 5.Peace And Love (Amani Na Mapenzi): Movement I (Birth)
  • 6.Peace And Love (Amani Na Mapenzi): Movement II (Now)
  • 7.Peace And Love (Amani Na Mapenzi): Movement III (Time)
  • 8.Peace And Love (Amani Na Mapenzi): Movement IV (Encounter)
  • 9.Peace And Love (Amani Na Mapenzi): Movement V (Beginning)
  • 10.Chutney
  • 11.Polk Street Carnival

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Ape Is High
  • 2.Cohelo
  • 3.Git It All
  • 4.Children Of The Sun
  • 5.I Refuse To Smile
  • 6.Universal Rhythms
  • 7.Lord Of The Golden Baboon
  • 8.Central Park
  • 9.Kofijahm
  • 10.Here Today Gone Tomorrow
  • 11.Sun Must Go Down

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Hang Loose
  • 2.Fencewalk
  • 3.Hagalo
  • 4.Don't Mess With People
  • 5.Golden Stone
  • 6.Out With The Boys
  • 7.Moroccan Nights

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Mango Meat
  • 2.Never Die
  • 3.Love Song
  • 4.Interlude
  • 5.Fat City Strut
  • 6.Two Sisters Of Mystery
  • 7.Afrikus Retrospectus
  • 8.She Ain't Lookin' Too Tough
  • 9.Aspiration Flame

Product Description:

ULTIMATE COLLECTION contains 4 original Mandrill recordings, including MANDRILL, COMPOSITE TRUTH, MANDRILL IS, and JUST OUTSIDE OF TOWN.
Each is available as a separate CD on Collectables.
Not will only will Mandrill's music make you dizzy, the price tag of this limited-edition four-CD box set will too. Be prepared to shell out more than $50 for this 38-track collection, featuring their first four Polydor albums (Mandrill, Mandrill Is, Composite Truth, and Just Outside of Town). Mandrill's music is practically unpeggable, much like the U.K.-based Osibisa; they never gave the impression they were working from any semblance of a format. The multi-racial septet led by the talented Wilson Brothers -- Carlos, Lou, and Dr. Ric Wilson (a practicing cardiologist) -- were classified by many as a funk band, but that's misleading: their style included funk, soul, Latin, and fusion, all presented in convoluted arrangements. The 14-minute "Peace and Love (Amani Na Mapenzi)" suite is therapeutic, as are many of these joints. This is as good as it gets, but if you're looking for chartbusters, look elsewhere; also, each of the discs in this package are available separately at the same price. ~ Andrew Hamilton
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Mandrill

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431008423
  • Shipping Weight: 1.00/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)