Mighty Clouds of Joy The Best of the Mighty Clouds of Joy [MCA]

The Best of the Mighty Clouds of Joy [MCA]
4 ratings
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $6.98
You Save: $1.01 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  USP 422045
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: MCA Special Products


  • 1.Family Circle
  • 2.Ain't Got Long Here
  • 3.None But The Righteous
  • 4.A Bright Side (Sermonette)
  • 5.Glory Hallelujah
  • 6.Nearer To Thee
  • 7.I'll Go, Pt. 2
  • 8.A Friend In Jesus
  • 9.Nobody Can Turn Me Around
  • 10.He's Able
  • 11.Swing Low Sweet Chariot

Product Description:

These are the seminal '60s recordings of contemporary gospel's best-selling group, before the group's more recent rapprochements with r&b, soul, and disco. (One can sort of see that evolution here--on one of the later cuts, "Nobody Can Turn Me Around," the group sings eerily like Curtis Mayfield's Impressions circa "Get On Up.")
Questions of genre purity notwithstanding, it remains true that there are few sounds on earth more fervent than the Mighty Clouds of Joy at full throttle, which they are here in a program that includes impassioned renderings of gospel chestnuts ("A Friend in Jesus") and an old spiritual ("Swing Low, Sweet Chariot").

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Mighty Clouds of Joy

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 16,565
  • UPC: 076742204525
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

Gospel: Southern Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)