Herbie Nichols Complete Studio Master Takes (Herbie Nichols Trio) (2-CD)

Complete Studio Master Takes (Herbie Nichols
10% OFF
Rating 4.6
5 ratings
List Price: $22.98
Your Price: $20.68
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  33J85
on most orders of $35
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: May 9, 2005
  • Label: Lonehill Jazz Spain

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Third World
  • 2.Step Tempest
  • 3.Dance Line
  • 4.Blue Chopsticks
  • 5.Double Exposure
  • 6.Cro-Magnon Nights
  • 7.Amoeba's Dance
  • 8.Brass Rings
  • 9.2300 Skiddoo
  • 10.It Didn't Happen
  • 11.Crisp Day
  • 12.Shufffle Montgomery
  • 13.The Gig
  • 14.Hangover Triangle
  • 15.Lady Sings the Blues
  • 16.Chit Chatting
  • 17.House Party Starting
  • 18.Terpsichore

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Wildflower
  • 2.Mine
  • 3.The Spinning Song
  • 4.Query
  • 5.Too Close for Comfort
  • 6.Every Cloud
  • 7.Argumentative
  • 8.Love, Gloom, Cash, Love
  • 9.Portrait of Ucha
  • 10.Beyond Recall
  • 11.All the Way
  • 12.45 Degree Angle
  • 13.Infatuation Eyes
  • 14.S' Crazy Pad
  • 15.Who's Blues?
  • 16.'S Wonderful
  • 17.Nichols and Dimes

Product Description:

This compilation of work by jazz piano great Herbie Nichols features digital remasters of songs originally released on vinyl. He is variously accompanied by Al McKibbon, Terry Kotick, or George Duvivier on bass and Art Blakey, Max Roach, or Dannie Richmond on drums.
Personnel: Herbie Nichols (piano); Danny Barker (guitar); Dannie Richmond, Max Roach, Art Blakey, Shadow Wilson (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Herbie Nichols; Nat Hentoff.
Recording information: Hackensack, NJ (03/06/1952-11/10/1957); Los Angeles, CA (03/06/1952-11/10/1957).
Editor: John Flanagan.
In what appears to be the first Herbie Nichols compilation of its kind, Lone Hill Jazz presents each and every master take recorded by the Herbie Nichols Trio for both the Blue Note and Bethlehem labels between May 1955 and November 1957. Here Nichols acted in collaboration with bassists Al McKibbon, Teddy Kotick, and George Duvivier, and drummers Art Blakey, Max Roach, and Dannie Richmond; such percussive support was important because one very special aspect of Nichols' music is the manner in which the drummer often carries portions of the melodic line. All previous issues and reissues have maintained a separation along the lines of the original record labels, with most attention being focused upon the amazing Blue Note sessions while the Bethlehem material hovered around like a lesser-known sequel. With all the pieces of the puzzle assembled into one entity, a bigger picture emerges of this brilliant African-American composer and pianist struggling to get his music recorded during the Eisenhower Era, when the entertainment industry was mainly concerned with Elvis Presley, Pat Boone, and Patti Page. Herbie Nichols' original compositions are unique poetic manifestations comparable in many ways to the inventions of Thelonious Sphere Monk. The great surprise here is the appearance of three rare quartet tracks -- including a fine and noble piece of blues -- recorded in March 1952 with guitarist Danny Barker, bassist Chocolate Williams, and drummer Shadow Wilson. These bonus tracks form a stunning coda for this unprecedented portrait of the one, the only Herbie Nichols. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Herbie Nichols

Product Info:

  • UPC: 8436019581889
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm