Genres: Heavy Metal
Decades: 1990s 2000s


An experimental Swedish death metal band, Therion was formed in 1987 by Christofer Johnsson (vocals/guitar), Peter Hansson (guitar), Oskar Forss (drums) and Erik Gustafson (bass) and, after recording demos with a certain old-school edge signed a contract with Peaceville for one album. Of Darkness … and Beyond Sanctorum were competent enough, but the world’s metal fans had plenty of other bands to occupy them and it was only with the signing of a long-term contract with Nuclear Blast that Therion developed an avant garde edge. This came to the fore on 1993’s Symphony Masses: Ho Drakon Ho Megas, recorded by a new line-up comprising Johnsson, Magnus Barthelson (guitar), Andreas Wallan Wahl (bass) and Piotr Wawrzeniuk (drums). Bass player Frederik Isaksson joined Johnsson and Wawrzeniuk on the ensuing Lepaca Kliffoth, while Lars Rosenberg (bass) and Jonas Mellberg (guitar/keyboards) helped record Theli and 1997’s covers album, A’Arab Zaraq...

Arrow Read the Full Biography of Therion

Email alerts for products
by Therion