The Magicians

Genres: Pop / Rock
Descriptive "tags": garage rock 60s psychedelic rock psychedelic rock 1960s psychedelic psych nuggets Powered by AudioScrobbler
Decades Active: 1960s 1990s


Formed in New York in 1964, the Magicians comprised Allan Jacobs (lead guitar), Gary Bonner (rhythm guitar), John Townley (bass) and Alan Gordon (drums). They were briefly the house band at the famed Night Owl Cafe, but despite becoming the subject of a WCBS-television documentary, Four To Go! (1966), the quartet was unable to achieve a commercial breakthrough. They completed four folk rock/pop singles, including ‘An Invitation To Cry’ (1965) and ‘I’d Like To Know’ (1966). The latter was penned by David Blue. The group disbanded following the release of ‘Double Good Feeling’. Bonner And Gordon subsequently forged a successful songwriting team whose several hits included ‘Happy Together’ and ‘She’d Rather Be With Me’ for the Turtles.

Arrow Read the Full Biography of The Magicians

Email alerts for products
by The Magicians
Email Icon