Rocket from the Crypt

Genres: Pop / Rock
Decades: 1990s 2000s


With a visual image denoted by 50s silk shirts, tattoos and sideburns, Rocket From The Crypt formed in 1990 in San Diego, California, USA. Led by John ‘Speedo’ Reis (1969, California, USA; vocals/guitar), who had played with hardcore outfits Pitchfork and Drive Like Jehu, the original band comprised Reis, Petey X (b. Pete Reichert; bass), N.D. (b. Andy Stamets; guitar), Sean (drums) and Elaina (backing vocals). This line-up released 1991’s Paint As A Fragrance and then fell apart. Reis, N.D. and Petey X were then joined by Atom Willard (b. Adam Willard, 15 August 1973, USA; drums) and Apollo 9 (b. Paul O’Beirne; saxophone), and proceeded to build their reputation as a back-to-basics rock ‘n’ roll band supporting such incongruous artists as the Misfits and James Brown, and also several west coast dates on the final Sun Ra tour. After a series of low-key recordings the band signed a contract with Interscope Records and then took a break...

Arrow Read the Full Biography of Rocket from the Crypt

Email alerts for products
by Rocket from the Crypt
Powered by AudioScrobbler