Decades: 1970s 1990s


Pete Robinson (keyboards), John Gustafson (bass, vocals) and Mick Underwood (drums) were members of Episode Six during that renowned pop outfit’s final incarnation. They disbanded to form Quatermass in September 1969 and, over the ensuing 18 months, forged a career as a tight progressive power-trio. Their lone album was an impressive example of this genre, but failed to achieve a significant commercial breakthrough. Quatermass broke up in 1971. Gustafson, a former member of the Big Three and the Merseybeats, pursued a similar direction with Hard Stuff and later played with Roxy Music, while Robinson reverted to session work. Underwood joined several subsequent bands, including Strapps and Gillan. Underwood formed Quatermass II in the mid-90s, recording several demos with seasoned musicians Peter Taylor (vocals), Nick Simper (bass), and Bernie Tormé (guitar). A revamped line-up comprising Gary Davis (guitar), Don Airey (keyboards), Simper and Underwood...

Arrow Read the Full Biography of Quatermass

Powered by AudioScrobbler