Genres: Pop / Rock
Decades: 2000s


This Pontypridd, Wales-based post hardcore outfit was formed in 1997 by Ian Watkins (drums) and Mike Lewis (guitar) following the break-up of their former band Public Disturbance. They were subsequently joined by Lee Gaze (guitar) and Mike Chiplin (drums), with Watkins taking over as lead vocalist. A series of well-received demos and a burgeoning reputation as a live act attracted the attention of the independent label, Visible Noise Records. Thefakesoundofprogress, released by Visible Noise in October 2000 and featuring new bass player Stuart Richardson, offered a welcome home-grown antidote to the wave of American nu metal bands riding high in the UK charts. This assured and engagingly melodic collection earned the band a US recording contract with Columbia Records, and support slots with Pitchshifter, Linkin Park and the Deftones. By this point, the band had added keyboard player and turntablist Jamie Oliver (Richard Oliver) to their line-up....

Arrow Read the Full Biography of Lostprophets

Email alerts for products
by Lostprophets