Godspeed You Black Emperor!

Genres: Pop / Rock
Tags: post-rock experimental post rock ambient avant-garde instrumental Powered by AudioScrobbler
Decades: 1990s 2000s


Disenfranchised Canadian outsiders Godspeed You Black Emperor! appropriate their lengthy moniker from a Japanese motorbike gang, probably via Mitsuo Yanagimachi’s documentary Buraku Empororu. The collective was formed in Montreal, Quebec, in 1994 by Efrim Menuck (guitar), Roger Tellier-Craig (guitar), Bruce Caudron (drums), Aidan Girt (drums), Mauro Pezzente (bass), Thierry Amar (bass), Norsola Johnson (cello), Sophie Trudeau (violin), and David Bryant (guitar, tapes). That year’s All Lights Fucked On The Hairy Amp Drooling was a cassette-only release, with a print run of just 33 copies and, notably featured track titles such as ‘Revisionist Alternatif Wound To The Haircut Hit Head’ and ‘Perfumed Pink Corpses From The Lips of Ms Dion’. Portentous by more than one definition, the collective creates romantically pessimistic music that is pretentiously weighty and full of unspecifiable significance.

Finding the...

Arrow Read the Full Biography of Godspeed You Black Emperor!

Email alerts for products
by Godspeed You Black Emperor!
Email Icon