Genres: Pop / Rock
Decades: 1990s 2000s


This Greek power metal band was formed in 1998 by guitarist Gus G. (Kostas Karamitroudis, 12 September 1980, Thessaloniki, Greece). Joined by Brandon Pender (vocals) and Matt Scurfield (drums) he completed the self-released Nocturnal Symphony, before his work with two new bands, Dream Evil and Mystic Prophecy meant Firewind was put on temporary hold. He re-formed the band in 2002 with a new line-up comprising Stephen Frederick (vocals), Konstantine (b. Kostas Exarhakis, Greece; bass) and Brian Harris (drums), and completed their first international release, Between Heaven And Hell. Further personnel changes saw the introduction of a new rhythm section comprising Petros Christo (b. Petros Christodoylidis, 4 March 1975, Greece; bass) and Stian L. Kristoffersen (b. 24 December 1976, Porsgrunn, Norway; drums), with the resultant Burning Earth earning the band its most successful reviews. New vocalist Chitral Somapala (b. Sri Lanka) and keyboard player Bob Katsionis...

Arrow Read the Full Biography of Firewind

Email alerts for products
by Firewind