Genres: Pop / Rock
Decades: 1990s 2000s


Egg was formed in July 1968 by Dave Stewart (30 December 1950, Waterloo, London, England; keyboards), Hugh Montgomery ‘Mont’ Campbell (bass/vocals) and Clive Brooks (drums). The three musicians were all previous members of Uriel, a flower-power-influenced group that had featured guitarist Steve Hillage. Egg recorded two albums, Egg and The Polite Force, between 1970 and 1972. Stylistically similar to the early work of Soft Machine, these releases featured Stewart’s surging keyboard work and a complex, compositional flair, bordering on the mathematical. The band’s aficionados were thus stunned when Brooks abandoned this experimental path for the more orthodox, blues-based Groundhogs, and his departure resulted in Egg’s demise. Stewart rejoined former colleague Hillage in the short-lived Khan, before replacing David Sinclair in Hatfield And The North. However, the three original members of Egg were later reunited for the final album, The...

Arrow Read the Full Biography of Egg