The Lurkers

Decades: 1970s 1980s 1990s 2000s


This first-generation UK punk quartet formed during 1977 in Uxbridge, London. Comprising Arturo Bassick (Arthur Billingsley; bass), Howard Wall (lead vocals), Pete Stride (guitar) and Manic Esso (b. Pete Haynes; drums), they were heralded as the British answer to the Ramones. They had four minor UK hit singles between 1978 and 1979, with ‘Ain’t Got A Clue’ and ‘I Don’t Need To Tell Her’ proving the most successful. Bassick had departed quickly, and was replaced first by Kym Bradshaw (ex-Saints) then, more permanently, Nigel Moore. The Lurkers specialized in two-minute blasts of punky rock ‘n’ roll, delivered with an almost naïve charm. Their simple, yet effective style was instantly accessible and exuded warmth as well as energy. They never received the recognition their talents deserved, however, because of a lack of image and media support. Pete Stride teamed up with John Plain (the Boys) in 1980 to record New Guitars...

Arrow Read the Full Biography of The Lurkers

Filter Results
Punk Generation: My Way (Import)
50% OFF
To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)