Dice Of Dixie Crew Finest Brand in Dixieland [Collector's Edition] (3-CD Box Set)

Finest Brand in Dixieland [Collector's Edition]
2 ratings
Only 6 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $5.85 Limited Time Only
List Price: $6.99
You Save: $1.14 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  C332
on most orders of $50+
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • Released: May 13, 2008
  • Label: Inakustic

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • 2.At a Georgia Camp Meeting
  • 3.Struttin' With Some Barbecues
  • 4.Blue and Blue
  • 5.Wolverine Blues
  • 6.After You've Gone
  • 7.Dr. Jazz
  • 8.I Can't Give You
  • 9.China Boy

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sheik of Arabia
  • 2.Jazz Me Blues
  • 3.Sweet Lorraine
  • 4.Please Don't Talk About Me
  • 5.As Long as I Live
  • 6.Indiana
  • 7.Girl
  • 8.Royal Garden Blues

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Sideway
  • 2.I'm Coming Virginia
  • 3.Dark Eyes
  • 4.I'm Coming Virginia
  • 5.Green Leaves of Summer
  • 6.Nobody's Sweetheart
  • 7.St. Louis Blues
  • 8.Limehouse Blues
  • 9.Davenport Blues
  • 10.Potato Head Blues
  • 11.Rentparty Blues
  • 12.Blues My Naughty Sweety Gives to Me

Product Description:

Dice of Dixie Crew: Hermann Bruderhofer (vocals, banjo); Jorn Pfennig (vocals, clarinet, soprano saxophone); Wolfgang Trattner (trumpet, flugelhorn); Joe Gallardo (trombone); Klaus Steckeler (tuba); Simon Holliday (piano); Jerg Gebhardt, Gregor Beck (drums).
It might seem unusual to many Americans that a German group would adopt early vintage jazz and Dixieland, especially considering what Adolf Hitler did to the music during WWII. In fact, there are several traditional jazz bands from Germany that have carried the torch for this style beyond what many groups in the U.S. have done, save the Preservation Hall Jazz Band. A whopping three CDs of this music might have limited appeal unless this is the only jazz you like. It is a bit long-winded, but the music is well played, interpreted, and even expanded within its format. All the tunes are familiar, and there's no fluff or filler on this recording for nostalgia buffs and people learning about these roots of jazz. ~ Michael G. Nastos

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 707787908320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Extended Holiday Hours: Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)