We The People Biography

Formed in Orlando, Florida, USA, We The People combined members of two groups managed by local entrepreneur, Ron Dillman. David Duff (guitar), Tommy Talton (guitar/bass) and Tom Wynn (drums) were previously in the Offbeets, whereas Wayne Proctor (guitar/bass) and Randy Boyte (organ) had played in the Trademarks. The new act made its recording debut in 1966 with ‘My Brother The Man’, issued on their own Hotline label. Wynn was then replaced by Lee Ferguson. We The People became a leading live attraction in Florida and quickly secured a recording contract with Gene Autry’s Challenge Records. Three singles followed, ranging in style between the raunchy ‘Mirror Of Your Mind’ and pensive ‘St. John’s Shop’. They also recorded the original version of ‘In The Past’, later covered by the Chocolate Watchband. Proctor left the line-up in 1967, after which the group continued as a four-piece with Duff switching to bass. As such We The People were signed by RCA Records, but later releases lacked the fire of the Challenge recordings and the unit broke up in 1970.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results