The Subways Biography

UK indie rock trio formed by Billy Lunn (guitar/vocals), his girlfriend Mary-Charlotte Cooper (bass/vocals) and Josh Morgan (drums). Lunn and Morgan are actually brothers, with Lunn adopting his mother’s maiden name as his surname. Coming from the satellite town of Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire, the trio originally played together under a number of different names, including Platypus, before deciding on the Subways. Becoming regulars on the London indie circuit helped boost the band’s reputation in media circles, but their real breakthrough happened in summer 2004 when the trio won the Glastonbury Unsigned competition organised by Michael Eavis and were promoted to the Other Stage alongside a host of famous bands. They signed a recording contract with City Pavement/Infectious Records later in the year and began work on their debut album with leading producer and former Lightning Seeds frontman Ian Broudie. The eagerly awaited Young For Eternity, which featured the minor UK hits ‘Oh Yeah’ and ‘Rock & Roll Queen’, was released in summer 2005 to a reaction of slight disappointment, with many bemoaning the loss of the trio’s live energy in a studio setting.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results