The Iguanas Biography

Although they have never managed to break out of cult status, the New Orleans, Louisiana, USA-based quintet, the Iguanas, has been issuing albums in a Latin-tinged, roots rock mode since the early 90s. Formed at the end of the 80s, the first members to sign on included multi-instrumentalists and vocalists Rod Hodges, Joe Cabral and Rene Coman. The line-up was rounded out by tenor saxophone player Derek Huston and drummer Willie Panker, following which the Iguanas landing a recording contract with Jimmy Buffett’s Margaritaville Records in 1993. A trio of critically acclaimed releases followed, with 1996’s Super Ball the first album on which band members earned their first production credit, before they exited from Buffett’s label. Doug Garrison replaced Panker on the second of these releases, 1994’s Nuevo Boogaloo. The quintet’s fourth album release, Sugar Town, followed in 1999, before the Iguanas reunited with producer Justin Niebank (who oversaw the recording of their first two releases) for 2003’s Plastic Silver 9 Volt Heart.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results
New Orleans Music in Exile
28% OFF
New Orleans Music in Exile (DVD)
$7.16 Super Savings