The Attack Biography

This mid-60s mod-influenced UK pop act, formerly known as the Soul System, comprised Gerry Henderson (bass), Richard Sherman (vocals), David O’List (13 December 1948, Chiswick, London, England; guitar) and Alan Whitehead (b. 24 July 1946, Oswestry, Shropshire, England; drums). They were signed to entrepreneur Don Arden’s agency, Galaxy Entertainments, in the hope of emulating the success of his other protégés, the Small Faces. Not to be confused with the US band of the same name who issued one single ‘Washington Square’, the Attack’s debut for the Decca Records label was a cover version of the Standells’ ‘Try It’. Several further unremarkable singles (‘Colour Of My Mind’/‘Created By Clive’, ‘Neville Thumbcatch’) on Decca demonstrated a new psych pop sound. The line-up was ever-changing and at one time included future Nice drummer Brian ‘Blinky’ Davidson, and future Andromeda, Five Day Week Straw People and Atomic Rooster member John Cann (vocals/guitar). They failed to chart but became embroiled in a war of words with Jeff Beck after recording a cover version of his hit ‘Hi-Ho Silver Lining’ in 1967. An album Roman Gods Of War was ready for release but never appeared. That same year, the Attack folded but their talented guitarist David O’List later found a degree of fame as a member of the Nice and Whitehead joined Marmalade.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results