Supersuckers Biography

Originally from Tucson, Arizona, USA, the Supersuckers were formed by Ron Heathman (Rontrose Heathman; guitar), Eddie Spaghetti (b. Edward Carlyle Daly III, bass, vocals), Dan ‘Thunder’ Bolton (guitar), Eric Martin (vocals) and Dan Seigal (drums). They have recorded for a variety of outlets since their formation (as the Black Supersuckers) in 1988, using eMpTy for their debut album, The Songs All Sound The Same (by this time Martin had left, with Spaghetti taking over vocal duties). This reprised some of their earlier, hard to source 7-inch records for Sympathy For The Record Industry, Lucky and eMpTy themselves. Their debut for new Seattle home Sub Pop Records came with ‘Like A Big Fuckin’ Train’, then ‘Hell City Hell’/‘Dead Homiez’ (the latter a bizarre Ice Cube cover version). The Smoke Of Hell became their first album proper in 1992, with a glorious and somewhat attention-grabbing jacket drawn by comic artist Daniel Clowes. It was produced by ‘grunge supremo’ Jack Endino. Following a first visit to Britain with Reverend Horton Heat in 1993, the Supersuckers entered the studio to work on a follow-up set. La Mano Cornuda duly arrived the following year and expanded on previous lyrical and musical themes - hard rocking songs about hard drinking hard men being the overwhelming impression. Heathman was replaced by ex-Didjits guitarist/vocalist Rick Sims for 1995’s creative highpoint, The Sacrilicious Sounds Of The Supersuckers. In 1997, the band teamed up with Steve Earle to record the Creepy Jackalope EP, and had a stab at cowpunk on Must’ve Been High. Heathman returned to the line-up for the band’s debut, 1999’s perfectly-titled The Evil Powers Of Rock ‘N’ Roll. The Supersuckers then formed their own Mid-Fi label, debuting in 2002 with their first live release.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results