Solitude Aeturnus Biography

Formed in 1988 by Texan guitarist John Perez, Solitude Aeturnus set out to revive the ‘heavy groove orientated’ style of Black Sabbath. The results were slow, epic, guitar-based heavy metal with a definite ethereal edge. Solitude Aeturnus secured a contract in 1991 and released Into The Depths Of Sorrow. This established them as part of the doom metal movement, which was a more atmospheric, grinding counterpart to the frantic aggression of death metal. While many of the bands in the doom genre were interested in creating sweeping vistas of tragic horror, Solitude Aeturnus have a more grandiose, dreamlike quality. Much of this is owing to the semi-operatic vocals of Robert Lowe which contrast effectively with the maudlin power of the lumbering guitar riffs of John Perez and Edgar Rivera (the rhythm section comprises Lyle on bass and Wolf on drums). Unfortunately, while they are good at what they do, Solitude Aeturnus have a tendency to be somewhat one-dimensional. Their third album, Through The Darkest Hour, followed a label change and saw the band’s material develop a little more punch.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results
Alone (CD)
Out of Stock
Save for Later