Sinner Biography

This German hard rock/thrash metal band was formed by Matthias Lasch in 1980. Lasch later became known as Mat Sinner, adding guitarists Wolfgang Werner and Calo Rapallo, drummer Edgar Patrik (later of Bonfire) and keyboard player Franky Mittelbach to complete the band’s initial line-up. Influenced by Accept, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden and later Metallica, they released six workmanlike, but ultimately uninspiring, albums between 1982 and 1987. The personnel was in a constant state of flux, with Sinner the only constant. Their early career was dominated by New Wave Of British Heavy Metal -style material, reminiscent of Angelwitch and Tygers Of Pan Tang, then they moved towards a thrashier direction as Slayer and Anthrax arrived on the scene. The band have never made any impression outside Germany and after Dangerous Charm in 1987 they were dropped by their record company. To the delight of his faithful fans, Sinner has continued to record and tour with various personnel. His brand of old-school power metal shows no sign of losing its appeal. He has also recorded two albums as Primal Fear with Gamma Ray vocalist Ralf Scheepers, Tom Naumann, Stefan Leibing and Klaus Sperling.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results