Seatrain Biography

The original Seatrain line-up evolved from the New York, USA-based Blues Project. Andy Kulberg (Buffalo, New York, USA; bass, flute) and Roy Blumenfeld (drums) relocated to Marin County, California to form a new line-up of the band comprising John Gregory (guitar, vocals; ex-Mystery Trend), Richard Greene (b. 9 November 1945, Beverly Hills, California, USA; violin) and Donald Kretmar (saxophone, bass). This particular line-up completed the previous outfit’s contractual obligations with the Planned Obsolescence album.

Adding lyricist and vocalist James T. Roberts, the unit’s first official self-titled album was released in 1969. This imaginative collection fused such seemingly disparate elements as rock, bluegrass and Elizabethan-styled folksiness. Internal problems sadly doomed this quirky line-up, and after approximately 25 members had passed through the band, a stable Seatrain line-up emerged with only Kulberg and Greene remaining from the initial band. The three newcomers were Lloyd Baskin (keyboards, vocals), Larry Atamanuik (drums) and former Earth Opera member Peter Rowan (b. 4 July 1942, Boston, Massachusetts, USA; guitar, vocals). A second album, also entitled Seatrain, was recorded in London under the aegis of George Martin, as was their third collection, The Marblehead Messenger. Both albums displayed an engaging, eclectic style, but were doomed to commercial indifference. The departure of Rowan and Greene to the critically acclaimed Muleskinner was a severe blow and although Kulberg and Baskin persevered by bringing Peter Walsh (guitar), Bill Elliott (keyboards) and Julio Coronado (drums) into the line-up, a fourth release, Watch, was a major disappointment. When Seatrain latterly disbanded, Kulberg pursued a career composing for numerous television shows.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results