Pyramids Biography

The Pyramids was a seven-piece, UK-based ska / rocksteady band, although they began their career as a straight ‘pop’ group, consisting of Josh Roberts, Ray Knight, Roy Barrington, Monty Naismith, Ray Ellis, Mick Thomas and Frank Pitter. A popular live attraction in Britain in the late 60s, they hit with ‘Train Tour To Rainbow City’, a chugging piece written and produced by Eddy Grant, which ran through many of the period’s most popular records and bore a close resemblance to Prince Buster’s ‘Train To Girls Town’. As rocksteady gave way to reggae, elements of the band, including Ellis, Naismith and Thomas, resurfaced in 1969 as Symarip with ‘Skinhead Moonstomp’, based on Derrick Morgan’s ‘Moon Hop’ hit, which was one of the anthems of the skinhead era but had to wait until its 1980 reissue to gain a chart placing.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results