OneRepublic Biography

Originally from Colorado Springs, Colorado, this US quintet made headlines as the first rock band to be signed to urban music svengali Timbaland’s Mosley Music Group label. Formed in 2004 by songwriters Ryan Tedder (1979, Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA; vocals, guitar, piano) and Zach Filkins (guitar, vocals), OneRepublic began to take shape after the duo relocated to Los Angeles. Drew Brown (guitar), Brent Kutzle (bass, cello) and Eddie Fisher (drums) completed the line-up, with the quintet signing a contract with Columbia Records after only a few live appearances. The deal quickly soured, however, but redemption was around the corner in the shape of Timbaland. The urban writer/producer was interested in breaking into the lucrative pop rock market dominated by the UK’s Coldplay and Keane, and had already hired Tedder pre-OneRepublic to work as a writer/producer on a number of his projects. In this capacity, Tedder contributed material to albums by artists including Natasha Bedingfield, Jennifer Lopez and Hilary Duff.

At the start of 2007, a remix of the OneRepublic track ‘Apologize’ was featured on Timbaland’s hit album Presents Shock Value, and climbed to number 2 on the US mainstream charts when released as a single later in the year. The buzz around the band had already reached fever pitch owing to their status as the top ranked artist on the influential MySpace website. Released in November 2007, Dreaming Out Loud was a competent collection of piano-led pop rock that failed to rise above the all too apparent influence of the aforementioned Coldplay.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results