Loose Fur Biography

Merging respective inclinations for free improvisation and country rock, Loose Fur is an alliance between avant rock guru Jim O’Rourke (1969, Chicago, Illinois, USA), and two members of Wilco, songwriter and guitarist Jeff Tweedy (b. 25 August 1967, Belleville, Illinois, USA) and drummer Glenn Kotche. The mildly provocative Loose Fur moniker formalises prior collaborations between the artists. Tweedy had previously appeared on O’Rourke’s 2001 release Insignificance, Kotche played in Jim O’Rourke’s backing band before joining Wilco, while sometime Gastr Del Sol and Sonic Youth member O’Rourke produced Wilco’s acclaimed 2002 album Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Actually recorded simultaneously to Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, Loose Fur’s 2003 debut album evolved out of rehearsals for a live project that Tweedy, O’Rourke, and Kotche were planning. O’Rourke asserted that the trio merely decided to go into the studio and record the songs they had written for the show before they forgot how to play them. The subsequent album compiled six ‘extended entanglements’ that captured its creators’ seemingly dichotomous predilections to wilful experimentation and routine melody. Contrary to expectation, O’Rourke claimed that much of the album’s avant noise experimentation was actually Tweedy’s doing. Echoing the dismay with which many of Wilco’s more conservative fans met Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, live guitar-heavy Loose Fur shows in the USA during December 2002 received mixed reactions. Nevertheless, the trio’s juxtaposition of seemingly opposed (conservative and avant garde) styles seems empathetic rather than provocative. The more cohesive and tuneful Born Again In The USA followed three years later.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results
Born Again in the USA
Born Again in the USA (CD)
$15.61 Super Savings