Georgia Satellites Biography

This rock quartet was formed as the Hellhounds in 1980 in Atlanta, USA, when Dan Baird (Daniel John Baird, 12 December 1953, San Diego, California, USA; vocals) and Rick Richards (guitar) started jamming together inspired by the Rolling Stones, the Kinks and the Pretty Things. Rick Price (bass) and Mauro Magellan (drums) completed the band. Magellan was the only one of the four not to originate from the Deep South, hailing from Miami. After a small-budget independent EP, they signed to Elektra Records. Their debut album rose to number 5 in the US charts in 1987, thanks to the Top 5 success of the inspired single ‘Keep Your Hands To Yourself’. They followed up with two cover versions; the Woods’ ‘Battleship Chains’ and Chan Romero’s ‘Hippy Hippy Shake’ (featured on the soundtrack of the Tom Cruise movie Cocktail). One of their heroes, Ian McLagan of the Small Faces, later joined them for In The Land Of Salvation And Sin, following which Baird left to start a solo career. The rest of the band went their separate ways shortly afterwards, although Richards and Price re-formed the Georgia Satellites in 1996, recruiting Billy Pitts (drums) and Joey Huffman (keyboards) to help record Shaken Not Stirred. Richards and Price continue to play together as the Hellhounds in addition to their commitments to the Georgia Satellites.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results
Open All Night
85% OFF