Five Finger Death Punch Biography

Playing vintage style thrash and groove metal, this US band was formed in 2005 by a number of heavy metal veterans. Ivan Moody (USA; vocals) had previously worked with Motograter and Ghost Machine, while guitarists Zoltan Bathory (b. Hungary) and Darrell Roberts were former members of U.P.O. and W.A.S.P. respectively. The latter band also provided drummer Jeremy Spencer, with former Anubis Rising bass player Matt Snell completing the line-up. Taking their name from the Quentin Tarantino movie Kill Bill, the quintet built up a big following on the US rock festival circuit with their no-thrills classic heavy metal. A contract with the Firm Music label ensued, with the three-track EP Pre-Emptive Strike released exclusively on the iTunes Music Store in July 2007. The debut album, The Way Of The Fist, stuck true to the band’s core values and was greeted with strong reviews by the classic rock press.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results