Destroy All Monsters Biography

This Detroit-based group revolved around ex-Stooges guitarist Ron Asheton and former MC5 bass player Michael Davis. Such experience ensured attention for the new group’s fortunes, particularly in the light of the concurrent punk rock explosion. With the group also comprising Niagara (vocals), Larry Miller (guitar), Ben Miller (saxophone) and Rob King (drums), Destroy All Monsters made its recording debut in 1978 with ‘Bored’/‘You’re Gonna Die’, issued in the UK by the independent Cherry Red label. The same outlet released a further two singles, while in the USA the band completed two privately pressed EPs, Live (1979) and Black Out In The City (1980). The group was then disbanded, following which Asheton formed New Race with another former MC5 member, drummer Dennis Thompson.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results