Count Five Biography

Formed in 1964 in San Jose, California, USA, the Count Five were a classic one-hit-wonder whose Yardbirds -inspired psychedelic-punk hit ‘Psychotic Reaction’, reached the US Top 5 in 1966. The band’s line-up comprised Ken Ellner (Brooklyn, New York, USA; vocals/harmonica), Sean Byrne (b. Dublin, Eire; guitar/vocals), John Michalski (b. Cleveland, Ohio, USA; lead guitar), Roy Chaney (b. Indianapolis, Indiana, USA; bass) and Craig Atkinson (b. Springfield, Missouri, USA; drums). They first drew attention by wearing Dracula-style capes to their gigs. After recording one album, also titled Psychotic Reaction, they continued to release singles into 1968 before disbanding. Byrne returned to Eire and featured on one album in 1973 as a member of Public Foot The Roman and in 1978 he turned up yet again for the group Legover on their album Wait Till Nightime.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results
History of Rock (10-CD Set)
44% OFF